4G not as good on S3

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by deathwhitch, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. deathwhitch

    deathwhitch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a bionic and LOVED it, but in order to keep my unlimited plan I had to renew while the option was there and preorder the S3. I love this phone so far, lots of cool features but i don't seem to get 4G service in near as many places with it as I did with my Bionic. Is there a way to fix this? I know it is something with the phone itself since my Bionic went all over town and almost never lost 4G but the S3 only seems to connect to 4G in certain places. Most annoying is not having it at my house since I tether to my PC and my Bionic ran 4G like a champ at my house but my S3 doesn't. is this a battery saving feature or am i the only one having this problem?
     
  2. TOMMYBOT

    TOMMYBOT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +38
    Could be completely wrong but I remember hearing that Motorola tends to have better radios than Samsung. Again remember reading that once could be wrong. But I do love the service on my bionic
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. deathwhitch

    deathwhitch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well if this does not improve I may have to go back to my Bionic then :( I hate knowing i am not getting the service I used to by switching to a "better" phone
     
  4. sweeeeet

    sweeeeet Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +65
    just as the bionic continued to get better service w the updates so will the s3.. I wouldn't ditch it yet.. its an incredible phone

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  5. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +723
    Current Phone Model:
    S7 Edge
    You aren't remembering incorrectly. Typically, the radios in Motorola devices are near the head of the pack (right up there along Nokia). Samsung's radios, particularly on CDMA/LTE devices, tend to land near the rear of the pack. They'll probably improve somewhat with updates like sweeeeet said, but it's extremely unlikely that they'll ever be where Motorola's are at. The Galaxy Nexus, which has been out since December, is still plagued with radio issues. From most of what I've read, the radios in the S3 are better than the radios in the Galaxy Nexus, but still not up to Motorola or even HTC.
     
  6. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +318
    The LTE Radios are build into the Qualcomm S4 Chipset, it's not the same chipset that was in the Nexus, the chipset is the same as in any Qualcomm S4 Chipset phone today, same goes for the S3 Chipset phones, my HTC Rezound has the S3 Chipset. Me personally have no issues with the Galaxy S3.
     
  7. deathwhitch

    deathwhitch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ill give it some time but if it there really is no way to improve this then I am so disappointed in this phone. Feels like having a T-Mobile again :( well ok not quite THAT bad but still upsetting not getting the coverage I pay for
     
  8. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +723
    Current Phone Model:
    S7 Edge
    The LTE chipset and the software radios are two different things. Even though various devices may use the same chipset, the manufacturers for different devices build their own radios. This impacts reception and accounts for the difference in how the devices handle signal.
     
  9. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +339
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    I gave the SIII a shot but reception was a bad as it was for me on the G'Nex. 3G, 4G and wifi. I'll be sticking to Motorola devices.

    Tap'd from my Maxx
     
  10. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +723
    Current Phone Model:
    S7 Edge
    If that turns out to be the case for me when my SIII arrives, it will be going up for sale the day I get it. Most people I've talked to that have owned the Galaxy Nexus and the S3, along with many reviews and comments online, have found the SIII to have better reception than the Galaxy Nexus. I haven't seen anyone claim Motorola level reception, but any step up from the Galaxy Nexus is enough for me to be curious. I guess we'll see in a couple days.
     
  11. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +318
    Did you read my post, Qualcomm's S4 chipset has the 4G/3G radios build into their chipset "Samsung has nothing to do with it", the International version which uses Samsungs Equinox Processor and chipset is of course different "reason for no Quad core US version of this phone", Samsung's LTE Radio chipset is not yet functional, go to Wireless Technology & Innovation | Mobile Technology | Qualcomm and look it up, you can also do a Google search.
     
  12. thisiswang

    thisiswang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't agree with the "motorola tends to have better radios than samsung" remark. many companies share radios. theres only so many, qualcomm, broadcomm...... I don't know if you had the bionic upon launch but I did and the battery and radios were both awful. after the next few OTA updates both significantly got better. I think the issue most like is software/firmware related for your case.
     
Search tags for this page

4g not working on samsung galaxy s3

,
4g not working on samsung galaxy s3 verizon
,

4g not working on galaxy s3

,

galaxy s3 4g not working

,
gs3 4g not working
,
how to update prl on galaxy s3
,
how to update prl on verizon galaxy s3
,
samsung galaxy s3 no 4g verizon
,

samsung galaxy s3 verizon 4g not working

,
verizon galaxy s3 4g not working