1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

4G Dropping Connection (but icon still shows)

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by reichbc, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. reichbc
    Offline

    reichbc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vacaville, CA
    Droid 4
    6.13.219.XT894.Verizon.en.US
    Rooted through Motofail
    Bloatware frozen, otherwise zero modification to system files.

    My problem is that, even in an area of advertised full 4G coverage, the 4G symbol turns white, but does not disappear. It still lights up the up/down indicators, but it will not seem to go blue again until I finally decide to ignore it and put it back in my pocket.

    I went to Verizon and they replaced the 4G-SIM Card, and the lady asked me if it was rooted. It is rooted, but all root-specific apps are hidden, so I told her "no."
    (She asked because it has LauncherPro as a home replacement, Avast fired off on her when she replaced the SIM, and she said that Firefox isn't available to phones on their network without being rooted (I lol'd very loud at that comment).)

    After she replaced the SIM, I went out to my car, jumped on YouTube for some tunes, and immediately 4G went white again.

    Any ideas as to what could be causing this to happen?
  2. MWJamesLDS
    Offline

    MWJamesLDS New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a DROID 4 and have been having the same problem for a week or 2. My phone is not rooted,though I have used fox fi (free hotspots app). Suspect it was related to that or my using large amounts of data. However I've used up to 80gbs previous months and only at 21gbs now.( I use netflix and Hull on my phone a lot). One think I noted was that when I switched the network to CD ma only (3g) it was not doing it. Its only the late that is, suspect it could be a whole network issue. I'm in long beach, CA area. Would be interested to know if others are having the same issues in the LA/OC area.
  3. jo_blow421
    Offline

    jo_blow421 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem. When I took it to Verizon the lady told me to try switching airplane mode on for a couple seconds and let everything disconnect then turn it off. It seems to work when I do it but the problem persists. It happened both before and after root.
  4. silverfang77
    Offline

    silverfang77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That happens to me all the time! I think either these phones have defective 4G chips, or VZW's LTE isn't ready for primetime yet. I'm going to leave my D4 on 3G for the time being and try 4G again next week.
  5. schatzy62
    Offline

    schatzy62 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I live in Central Massachusetts and we have no problems here. If in a 4G area i have no drop outs and noon of my coworkers have had any problems.

    What i have noticed though and have not looked into is that if my phone is on my desk with the screen off for more than 30 minutes (and that is critical in this explanation) and i turn the screen back on it show white for about 1/2 a second. If less than 30 minutes has gone by it is blue right from the screen turning on.
  6. sangelopez
    Offline

    sangelopez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the same exact problem in GARDENA CA. ive swiched my sim card and its the same. i also only get 1-3 bars of 4g. when i switch to 3g it turns blue but 4g drops alot!!!
  7. Mipader
    Offline

    Mipader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went to Verizon for this very problem. The manager of the location told me it was a known issue that an update is needed to fix. They looked this up, according to them at least.

    I was told an update to address the issue would be out in a few weeks. Sounds like typical "I don't want to deal with him" attitude, but this is what I was told.
  8. XNAVYGAL
    Offline

    XNAVYGAL New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been having the same problem here in Tacoma, WA for the last few weeks.
  9. SnglGrma
    Offline

    SnglGrma New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Hm, I have that issue too. I just thought it was because I was in an area that is not 4G ready, but also see it a lot when my Wi-Fi decides to come on by itself. (I have it set to find connections, because it can connect to my work and my home networks), or if my phone is not being used for a period of time.

    Drives me crazy because when it turns white, it's harder to get a connection, so I have to reboot my phone, even if I am on my home network. Got to be something I have changed.... Right??~
  10. spike74563
    Offline

    spike74563 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just FYI But I've had the same issues--- blue bars turing white/gray. I have the droid Bionc and do use PDA net for tethering and WFI hotspot.

    Location is in th Orlando Fl area
  11. guitarluvr213
    Offline

    guitarluvr213 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    tampa, fl here having the same issues. thought it was FB app specific but now its happening with almost every app i use. ive tried power cycling the phone, going to airplane mode, force closing apps it loses signal on. NOTHING has worked and its become very inconvenient. going to vzw store today to see wut my rep says. temporarily have the fone set to 3g (cdma) for now. will keep posted with whatever i find out.
  12. DonB312
    Offline

    DonB312 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got my Droid 4 last week in Chicago. Had this same problem. Now I am back home in Dallas and still have the same problem.

    My wife got a Galaxy 3 at the same time as I got my Droid 4 and she does not have this issue. When we got the phones, the person in the Verizon store let me know that the Galaxy 3 has the latest Android OS (4.0 I think) but the Droid 4 is still on Android 2.3.6. She said that Verizon will be sending out an update in the next few weeks to bring the Droid 4 to the latest Android version.

    I will set my phone for 3G for the time being then test 4G again once the update has been released.
  13. guitarluvr213
    Offline

    guitarluvr213 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have found a solution to the problem. I took my fone to a vzw store yday and explained to my friend who is a rep there what was going on. Apparently its a 4g fone issue where a small batch of each 4g model fone came with this glitch. He had to shut off my wireless connection on my fone as well as shutting off my number in the account disabling me from verizons network. He reconnected my number, then wireless connection and rebooted the fone and poof, it works. So go to ur store as soon as u can and explain this to them. If they give u pushback, dont just take it. Tell them this is the solution and u know that it works. Ive heard of a lot of stores who are clueless to this solution so dont give in to them! Lol
  14. core2kid
    Offline

    core2kid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same **** with me. I'm on my 3rd phone. First phone worked perfectly fine but had to be replaced because the earpiece gave out. Second phone worked for a good week or two and started dropping signal all together (4G/3G/Cell Data). Next phone worked for about 18 hours and started dropping 4G. Took it to the Verizon store and they basically said "Too bad, you have to deal with it until Moto pushes the update". I told them that it doesn't help my situation now and that my first phone didn't do it and they basically said "Oh, all 4G phones do it".

    Anybody install the ICS leak yet? That's a fresh start and it might fix the issues.
  15. jo_blow421
    Offline

    jo_blow421 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the ICS leak and haven't had the problem. It might be because i wiped my phone and disconnected the number before loading it. I'm not sure if it works because i disconnected the number and wiped or because of the leak though.
  16. core2kid
    Offline

    core2kid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably because of the leak because that updates the kernel. I'm not 100% set on installing the leak yet, I don't want to be stuck when the official comes out. I might go to Verizon and tell them to disconnect the number and reconnect it and see if that helps. I had less drops today but it still happened around 3 times. Toggling Airplane mode 2-3 times always fixed it but doing that is so annoying. I miss on my notifications.
  17. slikno420
    Offline

    slikno420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    iowa
    Having the same problem here in cedar rapids, ia. I tried going in today and having them dis/reconnect my number, still hasn't changed anything. Were getting close to the end of the 3rd quarter and everything that I've read still has this phone in development :( really hope they get something through quick. Anybody know if we have come any closer to finding out if we jump to ics if we would actually be stuck with it yet?


    Edit: had them do the disconnect today, now I am having an entirely different problem, my status bar is constantly showing a roaming symbol. (Little flashing triangle) I think I'm gonna do a factory retore and start over from scratch.
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  18. sangelopez
    Offline

    sangelopez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Droid 4's 4G connection drops way too often. The last 2 or 3 days it was working fine, but it started to drop again 3G seems to also drop but not as much as 4G. ICS has to hurry up!!!
  19. blueglacia
    Offline

    blueglacia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Temporary solution to Verizon 4G disconnect problem

    My Razr Maxx (ICS) and new Razr Maxx HD (JB4.1.2) both had persistent 4G disconnect problems on Verizon. It tends to occur about twice a day: around 8am and 11pm. "Network Type and Strength (under Settings)" shows 4G signal remains strong during the disconnect. Rebooting obviously restores the connection immediately. Instead, I quickly toggle Flight Mode on and off, which re-engages whatever system service responsible for holding 4G connection. This suggests to me that a modification within Android could easily overcome this disconnect issue even it the problem stems from Verizon's 4G handshake architecture. Only if Google is aware of this issue and the solution.
Search tags for this page
4g symbol turns white on my razr
,

4g connection keeps dropping

,
4g signal keeps dropping
,

4g symbol turns white

,

4g keeps dropping

,
android 4g symbol
,
droid razr 4g icon white
,
lg revolution losing 4g
,
losing 4g connection
,
my 4g connection keeps turning off
,
my verizon 4g keeps dropping
,
verizon 4g signal keeps dropping
,
why are my 4g bars white
,
why does 4g icon turn white
,
why does my 4g keep turning white