4.5.608.en.US Woes

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by FmE4ymbA, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. FmE4ymbA

    FmE4ymbA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Install failed. Specifically, the yellow bar gets about 10%, then it reboots, and in a few seconds a modal dialog box named 'Update Status' pops up with the message 'The software update failed!', and an [OK] button

    Anyone else having trouble with 4.5.608.en.US? workarounds? Has anyone been ABLE to successfully install this update?

    I'm rooted, but not rommed, and I have removed the facebook and blockbuster crap. Is there a reason why either of those would be a problem?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011
  2. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Absolutely not, those are standalone apps.

    Sent by my Bolt powered by Thunder
     
  3. iguanad

    iguanad Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Blockbuster is not a stand alone app. It is a system app. This might be you problem.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  4. FmE4ymbA

    FmE4ymbA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why exactly, does that break updates?
     
  5. SteveIrv

    SteveIrv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +3
    Because the update "wants" a clean install onto a stock system. The update won't install on a rooted phone either.

    Sounds like you need to restore your phone back to a stock version of the firmware and then try the update again.
     
  6. FmE4ymbA

    FmE4ymbA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How does it "know" the system isn't stock? Is it checking a sha256 of the flash?
     
  7. sickside

    sickside New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone is rooted and took the update just fine
     
  8. lwags67

    lwags67 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I thought elsewhere we were told the update would unroot the phone for us and install. Mine won't install either. Rooted, but install fails. Nothing deleted except for Cardock. Tried unrooting, but Pete's OneClick says cannot find the backup file. Looks like I am stuck at 607. But don't use Exchange, so no biggie, I guess. SBF'ing is beyond what I can or want to do.
     
  9. FmE4ymbA

    FmE4ymbA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I didn't expect rooted should be a problem. Had you removed any stop apps prior to the update?
     
  10. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Generally the advice is to restore all "bloatware" before updating. Did you delete or freeze cardock? If the latter, try unfreezing and try the update again.
     
  11. lwags67

    lwags67 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Deleted it using Titanium Pro. Trying to restore now. Running but taking a long time. Cardock may be a system file also.
     
  12. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, it is part of the system. If you ever do this again, freeze with TP rather than delete. Unfreezing is quick!
     
  13. Gasai Yuno

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Note that using the 3G icon fix from rootzwiki will also result in installation failure.
     
  14. lwags67

    lwags67 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Restored Cardock. Everthing unfrozen. No deleted apps. Still fails with no explanation.
     
  15. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you update from Froyo or from 4.5.607? At least for the soak test, the update from Froyo to .607 required you to be unrooted. .607 to .608 doesn't.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global 4.5.608 color scheme