4.4: Anyone having issues with LauncherPro?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by DatacomGuy, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using this as my home replacement, and love it..

    However in 4.4 it is sometimes slow to respond and FC's. It's the only app i have issues with (other than Storm8 stuff)

    Thoughts?
     
  2. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    I am looking into this (not just LauncherPro, but any home app that is slow)
     
  3. SkullOne

    SkullOne Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Huge issue with Froyo ROMs.

    I haven't used SS (probably about to flash to it though cause battery life for me with CM6 RC1 is abysmal right now), the original Froyo leak, BB v.4 and CM6 RC1 are all slow to redraw widgets and are slow to respond upon a reboot or after watching a movie. Many other people have the same issue.

    Would be awesome if Chevy or some other dev could figure it out though.
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the feedback guys.. Chevy you are the man, looking forward to the next version.
     
  5. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I've had a few issues, but really, nothing seemingly worse than what I already experienced with my stock/rooted 2.1 before.

    Launcherpro's "keep in memory" setting doesn't really help... I still experience the slow redrawing homescreen often, so I disabled that option.

    But for the most part, it runs well for me. With LP it definitely helps to reduce your number of homescreens if possible, disable the 3D app drawer, or basically sacrifice any other feature you don't need. Also, experiment with the memory management settings. All of these things help.

    I'm back to just 3 home screens because I have enabled the 5 icon rows per screen (and disabled the text under the icons so it doesn't look messy), and I also have quickdesk and widgetlocker for more quick access to things. At least, when I'm in my home screen (even though it redraws sometimes), it's very fast at that point.
     
  6. NattyBee

    NattyBee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I gotta be honest, I haven't had any issues worth noting...I find that LauncherPro runs more smooth/fast than the stock home (as it did with stock 2.1, rooted 2.1, 2.1 roms, and all Froyo roms)....

    I'm running 7 homescreens, widgets, 3D app drawer, etc...
     
  7. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    in the BB thread, someone suggested using minfreemanager from the market, and set to aggressive. seems to work pretty well. pete said there is a file you can just edit instead of using the app, but i didn't want to mess with that yet.
     
  8. dvgb173

    dvgb173 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    LPB problems

    I've had problems using Launcher Pro Beta. They seemed to have calmed down though. All the buttons on the bottom would lose their definitions and revert to + signs. That would happen several times a day.
    I don't know why it stopped. I did drop from 5 screens to 3.
    I also kept losing my wallpaper, but I'm not sure that is related.
    Are you supposed to disable the stock launcher when you use this one?
     
  9. y0rk

    y0rk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Not saying you are having the same issue he had, but my roommate was complaining about the + signs the other day too. Then I pointed out that the dev implemented a scrolling dock and the + signs were for more buttons. LOL he hasnt complained about anything else yet
     
  10. dvgb173

    dvgb173 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scrolling dock? Then wouldn't one page have the original (default) icons?
     
  11. y0rk

    y0rk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    One would think. Like I said earlier I wasnt saying you were having the same problem as him. If you have launcherpro set to auto update you might want to change that if its pretty stable now. Also in the preferences for it you can backup the config for your wallpaper, screens, and icons. Then after upgrades or rom changes or whatever you can restore them.

    I've had my share of glitches and quirkiness with launcherpro but it is still a beta w.i.p. so you can't really use it as baseline for stability.
     
  12. dboss007

    dboss007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. Fault

    Fault Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My biggest problem is when going from dolphin browser to home screen. Lp ALWAYS has to redraw, which is super annoying

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  14. coondogg97

    coondogg97 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there any FroYo roms available that do not have have massive redraw issues? Minfree didnt seem to hemp me at all! I use a ton of widgets, maybe thats why? But I need to do something, its getting to the point where the phone is unusable.
     
  15. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Upgrade to 4.5 - these issues SHOULD be fixed, at least according to my beta testers and feedback thus far!
     
Search tags for this page

music widgets disappeared in launcherpro