1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

4.4: Anyone having issues with LauncherPro?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by DatacomGuy, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. DatacomGuy
    Offline

    DatacomGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using this as my home replacement, and love it..

    However in 4.4 it is sometimes slow to respond and FC's. It's the only app i have issues with (other than Storm8 stuff)

    Thoughts?
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am looking into this (not just LauncherPro, but any home app that is slow)
  3. SkullOne
    Offline

    SkullOne New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Huge issue with Froyo ROMs.

    I haven't used SS (probably about to flash to it though cause battery life for me with CM6 RC1 is abysmal right now), the original Froyo leak, BB v.4 and CM6 RC1 are all slow to redraw widgets and are slow to respond upon a reboot or after watching a movie. Many other people have the same issue.

    Would be awesome if Chevy or some other dev could figure it out though.
  4. DatacomGuy
    Offline

    DatacomGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback guys.. Chevy you are the man, looking forward to the next version.
  5. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've had a few issues, but really, nothing seemingly worse than what I already experienced with my stock/rooted 2.1 before.

    Launcherpro's "keep in memory" setting doesn't really help... I still experience the slow redrawing homescreen often, so I disabled that option.

    But for the most part, it runs well for me. With LP it definitely helps to reduce your number of homescreens if possible, disable the 3D app drawer, or basically sacrifice any other feature you don't need. Also, experiment with the memory management settings. All of these things help.

    I'm back to just 3 home screens because I have enabled the 5 icon rows per screen (and disabled the text under the icons so it doesn't look messy), and I also have quickdesk and widgetlocker for more quick access to things. At least, when I'm in my home screen (even though it redraws sometimes), it's very fast at that point.
  6. NattyBee
    Offline

    NattyBee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I gotta be honest, I haven't had any issues worth noting...I find that LauncherPro runs more smooth/fast than the stock home (as it did with stock 2.1, rooted 2.1, 2.1 roms, and all Froyo roms)....

    I'm running 7 homescreens, widgets, 3D app drawer, etc...
  7. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in the BB thread, someone suggested using minfreemanager from the market, and set to aggressive. seems to work pretty well. pete said there is a file you can just edit instead of using the app, but i didn't want to mess with that yet.
  8. dvgb173
    Offline

    dvgb173 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    LPB problems

    I've had problems using Launcher Pro Beta. They seemed to have calmed down though. All the buttons on the bottom would lose their definitions and revert to + signs. That would happen several times a day.
    I don't know why it stopped. I did drop from 5 screens to 3.
    I also kept losing my wallpaper, but I'm not sure that is related.
    Are you supposed to disable the stock launcher when you use this one?
  9. y0rk
    Offline

    y0rk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Not saying you are having the same issue he had, but my roommate was complaining about the + signs the other day too. Then I pointed out that the dev implemented a scrolling dock and the + signs were for more buttons. LOL he hasnt complained about anything else yet
  10. dvgb173
    Offline

    dvgb173 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Scrolling dock? Then wouldn't one page have the original (default) icons?
  11. y0rk
    Offline

    y0rk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    One would think. Like I said earlier I wasnt saying you were having the same problem as him. If you have launcherpro set to auto update you might want to change that if its pretty stable now. Also in the preferences for it you can backup the config for your wallpaper, screens, and icons. Then after upgrades or rom changes or whatever you can restore them.

    I've had my share of glitches and quirkiness with launcherpro but it is still a beta w.i.p. so you can't really use it as baseline for stability.
  12. dboss007
    Offline

    dboss007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  13. Fault
    Offline

    Fault New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My biggest problem is when going from dolphin browser to home screen. Lp ALWAYS has to redraw, which is super annoying

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  14. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Are there any FroYo roms available that do not have have massive redraw issues? Minfree didnt seem to hemp me at all! I use a ton of widgets, maybe thats why? But I need to do something, its getting to the point where the phone is unusable.
  15. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Upgrade to 4.5 - these issues SHOULD be fixed, at least according to my beta testers and feedback thus far!
  16. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Thanks Chevy. I will download it now and check it out. I have been meaning to check out your ROM anyway, have always read very good things. This will be a good reason!
  17. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Definitely let me know if this does or does not solve your issues ...
  18. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
  19. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Chevy - This ROM is much better with the redraw issue. ADW was still having some issues so I switched to Launcher Pro. With the tweaked Launcher Pro settings and Minfree the phone is running pretty smooth. Much better then anything else I have tried lately.

    I will check out the new Launcher Pro as well and report back in a few hours with an update.
  20. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Well im sorry to say after I replaced all my widgets and shortcuts the phone seems to have massive redraw issues again. I tried updating to the new Launcher Pro and that didn't fix anything. I think I am running too many widgets:

    Screen 1:
    3x - Weather Widget Donate (2x2)
    1x - Jorte Calendar Widget (2x2)
    1x - Pandora Widget (4x1)

    Screen 2:
    1x - Power Manager Widget (4x1)
    1x - System Info Widget (4x1)
    1x - Music 2x2 widget (2x2)
    1x - TeslaLED Widget (1x1)
    7x - Shortcuts

    Screen 3:
    1x - Beautiful Widgets (home) (4x2)
    1x - Twitter Widget (small) (4x1)
    7x - Shortcuts

    Screen 4:
    1x - Pure Messenger Widget (large 4x4 scrollable)
    1x - YouTube Widget (4x1)

    Screen 5:
    1x - Jorte Calender Widget (Large 4x3 month)
    1x - Photo Frame Deluxe Widget (Medium 4x2)

    Sorry, I would have taken screen shots, but I figured most of the community wouldn't want to read my e-mail and calendar.
Search tags for this page

music widgets disappeared in launcherpro