4.0.3 Update Droid Bionic [Rooted]

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by iTz_I3urn, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,
    I have a rooted droid bionic and i want 4.0.3 ICS NOW!!! I cant get it through the over the air update (because of root) and its not even out yet for the bionic... is there a way of getting the Real OTA update Now? (NOT A ROM I DONT LIKE ROMS BECAUSE OF BRICKS) Can i tweak my device to make it seem like a droid razr or google nexus (4.0 ) if so how???

    Thanks for any help that can be provided
     
  2. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    There is a Bionic ROM out there that's vanilla ICS and I just can't seem to find the link for the life of me now... the only thing that's not working on it, supposedly, is the video camera - normal cam works.
     
  3. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an issue with roms because i cant recieve calls. I had spearmint gummy kang rom and it was stuck on my device. I was so mad... but anyhow is it a rom?
     
  4. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    They're all ROMs. There is no official ICS for the Bionic yet. And even if there was a leak, it would still be an early leak that might have a few bugs.

    If you want true, pure ICS, that's official, you'll need to sell your Bionic and use that cash plus a little more to grab a Galaxy Nexus. ;)
     
  5. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright Dude Thanks :) but are you able to receive calls and stuff while running a rom such as: Vanilla ICS? I love the bionic and wont trade it for anything yet bro
     
  6. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    I haven't run any ROMs on my Bionic yet - but the latest ICS iterations are supposed to be solid as daily drivers - i.e. able to use the phone! :)
     
  7. deduct
    Offline

    deduct Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +28
    I was running gummy and axiom and cm9 for awhile. They all work pretty well. Only issues i had were that video camera does not work and forcecloses on games and phone freezing up at times. Data was stable.

    Sent from my iced bionic
     
  8. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh okay. Maybe i might download it @ my own risk. But i mite just wait for the OTA update
     
  9. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    Ratings:
    +18
    you will want to do some reading on flashing roms and the like before actually doing anything. more often than not someone who "bricks" their phone didn't read the instructions, or skipped a step, or selected something they weren't intending to. check out safestrap for the bionic, it will prevent you from "bricking" b/c you always have a safe side that will always boot if you get a bad flash.

    it is really difficult to actually brick these devices, you may end up having to work with it for a while to get it back, but it is very difficult to do permanent damage.

    I have never lost the ability to actually use the phone as a phone on any rom, unless it was a very early alpha build and it was known upfront that it was broken.
     
  10. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed that when im using a rom and im about to power off theres more options such as: power off,Silent, airplane, RECOVERY, screenshot. I was wondering how do i get the RECOVERY part to show up when im on regular stock and rooted...
     
  11. simonsez2die
    Offline

    simonsez2die New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're using safestrap the option to access recovery will come up every time you reboot. Just hit the menu button when it comes to The safestrap screen. If you're not using safestrap I would highly recommend using jrummys rom toolbox. At the bottom of the first tab there's a menu for "rebooted". all your reboot options will be there. Personally I would opt for the pro version its definitely worth the small price tag.
     
  12. timmy10shoes
    Offline

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    If your on stock 902, you can use droidjunks 901 deodexer to deodex stock first and then flash his notification bar editor. It will put the recovery and reboot option in the power prompt but not the screenshot.
     
Search tags for this page
can the droid bionic get 4.0.3
,
how do i get ota updates for rooted droid bionic
,
how to update my rooted droid bionic
,

how to update rooted droid bionic

,
update my rooted droid bionic
,
update rooted droid bionic