3G Toggle Possible?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by njskatchmo, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. njskatchmo
    Offline

    njskatchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to toggle 3G off so that it would only connect to phone calls and texts? I am not getting much battery life out of my droid.
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    apndroid can do this (probably other ones out there that can too)

    also, are you using a task killer?
  3. jeffboy757
    Offline

    jeffboy757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea switch pro widget toggles 3g on and off, really helps battery life
  4. njskatchmo
    Offline

    njskatchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am killing the tasks whenever I use them, some of the built in tasks keep comign back though. Also, the widget you sugggested doesn't seem to shut off 3G, it gives me a choice automatic or home.
  5. LexusBrian400
    Offline

    LexusBrian400 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Easy Switch works great for this.
  6. DROIDMASTER
    Offline

    DROIDMASTER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    turning 3g off doent disable internet it just switches to edge and takes longer so you will still be able to go on internet without 3g (just clearing that up)
  7. Nblufire12
    Offline

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try bugless beast and making setcpu profiles

    you could also buy a new battery...
  8. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    droid X thread...
  9. iojk9999
    Offline

    iojk9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you get bad battery life the first thing you should do is try running without ANY task killers, or cpusetters, etc. Also make sure GPS is off because there was certainly a bug in 2.1 that made the phone not sleep if GPS was used. (It may or may not be fixed in 2.2, I don't know).

    If you do all of that and start getting excelent battery life you will have something to think about.

    Tip: apps loaded in memory aren't always taking up cpu cycles, and loaded apps don't take up more energy for merely being in memory (opposed to the memory being free), but task killers, etc, usally do run using cpu cycles/battery.


    The android OS doesn't work like windows.
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  10. njskatchmo
    Offline

    njskatchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how can I tell if 3G is truly being disabled? The Icon still appears in the notification bar.
  11. njskatchmo
    Offline

    njskatchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I tried apndroid but it doesn't seem to disable 3g. It still says 3g in the top right and the internet still works without 3g on.
  12. njskatchmo
    Offline

    njskatchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok So I installed switch pro, and suddenly it turned off 3g, but now I can't turn it back on.
  13. BrianTX
    Offline

    BrianTX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about using the max battery saver profile? It turns 3g off 15 minutes after the screen turns off and turns it back on when the screen turns on.
  14. hoodboogie
    Offline

    hoodboogie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kailua, HI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you give us some info on how long your battery lasts? What do you use your phone for? Web, Calls, MMS, SMS, etc....

    Some info about your phone usage would help us. Getting 15 hours out of a stock Droid X battery with heavy data usage and many calls is great battery life. I get about 13 out of mine with very heavy use and can not complain at all.
Search tags for this page

droid 2 3g toggle

,
droid x2 3g toggle