3g to 4g upgrade?

Discussion in 'Motorola Xoom' started by Dan_08, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. Dan_08
    Offline

    Dan_08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Any word on how the 3g to 4g upgrade will work? is the Hardware built into it?
     
  2. bazar6
    Offline

    bazar6 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +10
    I am curious about this too... However, I've seen people say after an update, which I presume to be software. Connecting the dots I guess 3.0 isn't built for 4G yet. Anyone else have an idea?
     
  3. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't recall where I saw it, but one site said you'd have to send it back in qnd they'll add the new hardware that'd be required.

    Yeah, yeah.. I'm on my phone. So?
     
  4. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I doubt they will put a 4g chip in any phone you sent to them. There is a load of hardware and software that goes into it working.

    From my Droid 2 on Fission 2.5.7 w/ thirdeye
     
  5. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definitely not any phone, but since the Xoom is supposed to be upgradeable from 3G to 4G, some hardware changes will be involved.

    Yeah, yeah.. I'm on my phone. So?
     
  6. Dan_08
    Offline

    Dan_08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    well it seems they will have to add something, if the hardware is there why not enable it? I guess it could be a honeycomb issue. If the hardware is there, then I'm sure this community will find a way to use 4g (for free?)!
     
  7. bazar6
    Offline

    bazar6 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +10
    If this is the deal then I wouldn't mind getting the first gen. It'd be dumb not to send them with the hardware already installed, or else people won't want to get it because they don't want to buy it, use it, then send it back to have someone tear it apart for like a week.

    Poor planning by Motorola if they don't ship with the hardware installed in the first set of tablets.
     
  8. huelsebu
    Offline

    huelsebu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read that you will have to send it in to get the radio swapped out
     
  9. Dan_08
    Offline

    Dan_08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    If that is the case I'll wait till Q2, unless I get done before they release the 4g tablets.
     
  10. huelsebu
    Offline

    huelsebu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. Dan_08
    Offline

    Dan_08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yeah I hate it too! but good find, I searched earlier but couldn't find anything. Doesn't seem like to much of a hassel to bring it in and have it performed. Like buying a car with a V6 then bringing back to the shop to have the V8 put in...
     
  12. em1
    Offline

    em1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would think that they'd already be in the device and a simple software update will unlock its full potential, or tower upgrades.

    Sent from the Milestone
     
  13. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Something about handing my phone or tablet to an hourly wage guy at verizon to solder a new chip into my motherboard doesn't seem like a great idea to me... ill just wait for a 4g device. Lol.

    From my Droid 2 on Fission 2.5.7 w/ thirdeye
     
  14. EgooEspada
    Offline

    EgooEspada Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats how it'll work. Motorola left room for Verizon to upgrade with a 4G radio. I'm guessing Google wanted this out before the iPad 2, so they compromised on 4G.
     
Similar Threads
  1. greek175
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,352
  2. KhrizG35
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    4,110
  3. KhrizG35
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,051
  4. swizzcheez
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,929
  5. risky18
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,554
Loading...
Search tags for this page
4g upgrade for droid x
,

droid x 4g upgrade

,
droid x upgrade to 4g
,
how to upgrade 3 g phone to 4 g
,
how to upgrade 3g phone to4g
,
how to upgrade moto g to 4g
,
how to upgrade motorola droid x from 3g to 4g
,
how to upgrade phone to 3g or 4g
,
how to upgrade samsung s4 3g to 4g
,
upgrade droid x to 4g