3G to 1x to No Data Connection?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hajabooja, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. hajabooja

    hajabooja Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have been having some trouble with my Droid. While I am at work I will have 3G coverage and be using it fine with 2-3 bars. All of the sudden the coverage will drop and go to 1x or nothing. I let it sit for a few minutes and then it comes back. Or I have to turn Airplane mode on and off to get it back. Really annoying. I am in really good coverage area and it does the samething outside of my work. Anyone else having this problem? Verizon shows full 3G coverage around the city I live in (I know these aren't exact but still).
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,191
    Likes Received:
    835
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +875
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    sometimes i drop to 1x too, but it's usually for a couple of seconds, probably a minute at most. what you can do is dial *228 which will reconnect to the closest cell tower. Might help?
     
  3. hajabooja

    hajabooja Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm... no one else having this problem? Maybe I'll go into the Verizon store and see if they can give me a demo Droid to see if its not just my phone.
     
  4. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't find it as a problem, but it happens to me once every few days
     
  5. hajabooja

    hajabooja Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to manually load PRLs? I'd like to play with this to see if I can get anything out of it. Its just really annoying. I can open Google Maps and watch "My Location" jump around the map to three different spots when I have GPS turned off.
     
  6. BrokeStat

    BrokeStat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah i have this same exact problem.. it will be 4 bars then drop to none and switch in and out of 3G to 1X and back n forth .. i doesnt happen all the time but it happens
     
  7. dj.lew

    dj.lew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had the problem fresh out of the box. My csr at the Verizon couldn't even get it to work. An hour after I left the store I got reception, wake up the next day and I haven't had any luck since then. I was told that since there are a lot of people buying and activating the phone that I should just wait it out a bit and see what happens.
     
  8. saraskeen

    saraskeen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes I have this problem! Droid 4! Why isn't verizon fixing it?
     
Search tags for this page
1x connection verizon
,
1x data
,
1x network connection
,

1x connection

,
1x data coverage
,
1x data connection
,
verizon 1x connection
,
what is 1x data coverage
,
what is a 1x connection
,
why did my phone switch to 1x connection