3G speed

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by tattooz, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the speed test app and tried it in a spot where I have full bars. I only recorded 1M download speeds. I was getting 6M in the same area with my BB

    Anyway to tweak the settings?

    Sent from my DROID Pro using Tapatalk
     
  2. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    I am only getting 1.32 mb/s course I get pretty crappy reception in my work will try again when I get out of here. Not sure on any tweaks though pretty sure we got what we got, I wonder though if using the app takes up resources which causes download to slow.
     
  3. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    if ur on verizon there is no way u are seeing 6 mbit speeds on 3G. verizon doesnt use hsupa/hsdpa and ev-do rev. a is limited to 3.2 mbit/s maximum

    sprint likewise doesnt even use ev-do a, they use the older ev-do 0 that tops out at 2.7...so really.

    I live in an extended 3G area but when I am in a full 3G coverage area I get ~2.3 mbits/s, with 3G tweaks and a modded radio driver.
    without tweaks and the hacked radio I manage 1.7

    as an edit, your bars really only tell you the quality of phone call/texting signla you have. 3G speeds can vary based on a LOT more than your bars
     
  4. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    What kind of tweaks can I do to get better signal and/or faster speeds?
     
  5. Kaos2flo

    Kaos2flo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    What... My BB was so slow when it was on 3g. I never ran tests but no way it's faster than my Pro.
     
  6. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    BB could be on 17G and the browsing would still suck more than a hoover when compared to the Pro. dancedroid

    Sorry, back to topic.....so what were we talking about?
     
  7. patmw123

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +78
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Im getting well over 2mbps on my download 3g speeds.
     
  8. spdivr1122

    spdivr1122 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now see I have 4g now so I can't really talk. But with 3g I got barely 2mbps (I live 30 miles outside NYC) its beyond slow. At school it was worse. Idk rarely get 1mbps (gotta love Pennsylvania) so getting 4g idk great. 12mbps is just awesome.

    Sent from my LG Revolution
     
  9. patmw123

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +78
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    3g is plenty fast for me. Especially until Motorola comes out with a 4g phone with a physical keyboard, ill be more than content with my droid pro.
     
  10. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am sure it has to do with my area, but I am getting .5 mbps. That sucks! Is there anyway to tweak the tcp?
     
Search tags for this page

3 g browsar

,

lg revolution speed tweaks

,

maxx browsar