3g randomly turning off, help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by chrisCRISIS, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. chrisCRISIS

    chrisCRISIS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i've been rooted since the day root became available, tried out a few roms, where always buggy so i basically just stuck with stock 2.0.1 with 2.1 apks without any problems. then overclocking came out and i installed the custom boot images for 900mhz. worked great. then all of the sudden my 3g would randomly shut off and it would require a reboot to get the network back up. when droidmod 1.0 came out i installed that and it runs beautifully but now my 3g is randomly shutting off more than ever. atleast 6-10 times a day. anyone have this problem? any suggestions on how to fix it? it's getting really annoying. thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    It may not have anything to do with the root at all. I had a problem with no 3G and no service for 4 days. I don't know what the problem was but I called Verizon and explained what was going on. They wrote up a ticket and it was suppose to be fixed in 48 hours. 48 hours took 96 hours but they did fix the issue.


    Are you having this problem everywhere or just in one area?
     
  3. chrisCRISIS

    chrisCRISIS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    everywhere, i live about 30 minutes away from where i work and i get the same problem at my house, at my job, to and from my job. when i boot up the 3g will stay on for a couple of minutes and then just go back out again. also having extremely bad battery life, don't think there's a connection but that's equally as annoying.

    Edit: grammar
     
  4. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem with an older sholes rom (I guess it's called DroidMod, now), so I stopped using it. Try a different rom and see if you have better results. I'm currently using Bugless Beast 0.7.6 and have no problems.
     
  5. chrisCRISIS

    chrisCRISIS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the thing is that it was happening when i had no rom at all installed.
     
  6. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    First you said it was just fine with no rom - which one is it?

    Custom kernel is effectively the same thing as a rom - a rom just includes some app changes, various tweaks, and perhaps a theme IN ADDITION to the custom kernel. Things like the radio are only going to be affected by kernel changes.

    Like I said - try a different one (rom - but if you want to try just the kernel, feel free. They are a little harder to find information about stability, though)
     
    #6 Se7enLC, Feb 24, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010
  7. STIDRIVER

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 3G has been real flakey for the last 2 weeks... I think its Verizon, not my mods...
     
  8. voydas

    voydas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a Verizon issue
     
  9. jozhua

    jozhua Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you say 3g turning off, do you mean you're losing data completely or you're just getting downgraded to 1x?
     
  10. ips

    ips Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Home: NJ, School: Scranton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive been loosing 3g randomly and going down to 1x without root on sholes 2.05, 2.06 and droidmod 1.0... and BB. I think VZW is just having issues over the past few weeks as my dad has been loosing 3g on his BB storm in a completely different state. Weird thing is Im barley seeing any decrease in speed when it goes to 1x.
     
  11. BIG TEX

    BIG TEX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been having the same problem too. As I sit here typing it is switching from full 3g to no signal to 1x randomly. I reckon its a vzw issue.
     
  12. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see the same issue from time to time. Yesterday it went into 1x, after 30 minutes it still wouldn't revert back to 3g, so I put it in airplane mode, then turned AM off and it fixed itself.
     
Search tags for this page
dmu
,
my 3g is turning off on my android verizon
,
my 3g keeps shuting off why
,
why does my 3g keep shutting off
,
why does my 3g keep shutting off on android
,

why does my 3g keep turning off

,
why does my 3g phone keep turning off
,
why does my 3g turn off
,
why does my droid keep going off
,
why does the 3g on my android keep going away