3G On while wifi connected?

Discussion in 'Samsung Droid Charge' started by heem, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. heem

    heem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just recently my 3G has been staying on (and active) while wifi is connected. I know the wifi is good - using the browser I can check my IP to be that of my home internets... I've tried killing all running apps to see if something had the 3G connection stuck on, and even doing a cold boot right into wifi. Something is forcing the use of 3G and I don't know what it is. Any ideas?
     
  2. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    may just be the system maintaining a connection, just because wifi is on doesnt mean all other radios turn off.
     
  3. jneusch

    jneusch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed this too for the first time the other day.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  4. ClumsyNinja21

    ClumsyNinja21 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    It happens after backup assistant or any other 3g only app syncs. Restart phone if it bothers u but it affects nothing

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  5. heem

    heem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont have backup assistant. this just started recently. what apps are 3g only? i worry there is some nefarious process running...
     
  6. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    once again, all radios do not turn off just because you have wifi on.
    the system will transmit data from time to time to maintain the connection.
     
  7. heem

    heem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure where you get that information - but I've had droid phones for 3 years now and just recently this is the first time I've ever seen 3G come on and active while wifi was enabled.
     
  8. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    this is a Droid Charge forum, i gave accurate advice for that phone, good luck with your problem.....
     
  9. heem

    heem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I'm sorry, let me bow in your presence oh great one, of whom I have no knowledge or reason to believe.

    So I should just believe your accurate advice with no backing details? . no need to be so smug. I've had this phone since the day it came out in the VZW store and this is the first week this has started. there's obviously something going on and I'm trying to figure out what it is. You sound like a politician.. "Just believe me because I say so".
     
  10. densetsu86

    densetsu86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had that happen a few times with my dx2. But it was mainly due to the wifi being a unstable or weak connection.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  11. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2

    good luck with your issue, let us know how it works out.
     
  12. CTownDroid

    CTownDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, Oh
    Ratings:
    +16
    This has been happening since I've owned the Charge, doesn't appear to have an ill-effect on the phone. I was thinking it may have something to do with a weak wi-fi signal also, but don't know. Will keep an eye on it. I know that I do drive away from my wi-fi connection while streaming Pandora and it hands off to mobil data seamlessly. I usually toggle off mobil data while at home anyhow and turn it back on before leaving the house.
     
  13. BeefJerky

    BeefJerky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't really offer any help on the problem. However, I can say that the 3G/4G icons will not appear in the taskbar when I have Wi-Fi on and connected to an AP. I can't say whether the radios themselves are on or off, just that the icons aren't there.
     
  14. rexd1976

    rexd1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had 3 Android phones and a Galaxy Tab and my 3g connection never has been active when my Wi-Fi is connected either. My 3g will become active if I lose Wi-Fi signal (like at Starbucks), but at home I have an excellent wireless network and in 3 years I have never noticed 3g active while connected to my Wi-Fi. Does seem fishy. Is your batter dying faster as a result? At least there is no ICON indicating an active 3g... could be working in the background for all I know though.
     
  15. heem

    heem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Battery pretty much sucks anyway.. Installed Shark to see if I can get a sniff on what's going on.
     
Search tags for this page

3g on while connected to wifi

,

how do i know when my droid is connected to wifi

,

how to keep 3g while on the phone

,

verizon galaxy s3 showing 3g while connected to wifi

,

why is my galaxy 4 phone say 3g if i am connected to wifi