3G Mobile Hotspot

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by allencrabtree, Jul 30, 2010.

1. allencrabtree

allencrabtree New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Forgive me but I am a Android newbie but I must confess that I am NOT impressed. I have been a Storm user for some time and then tried out the Palm Pre Plus for a couple of weeks. I heard about the DroidX coming out so I restocked my Palm and eagerly snatched up one of these beauties. I do not know what I am doing wrong but the hotspot capability on this phone is a joke! I know the Palm Pre is not as sexy but it's hotspot tool worked flawlessly. When I do manage to get connected on my DroidX, it will only stay connected for a few minutes. When I re-attempt to connect, the link cannot be re-established and then when I try to disable the hotspot on the DroidX, it simply reboots itself. I do have the latest software: 1.13.604.mb810. Any suggestions or am I the only idiot that can't seem to make it work?

2. nwlake

nwlake New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I am curious about this also. I do not have an X yet, but I've read elsewhere that the hotspot connection is unreliable, especially with mac os.

3. Abe21599

Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

Ratings:
    +31
    if you have bluetooth on you PC you can connect to that (and its free (for now))

4. bigdog9586

bigdog9586 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    It looks like this is now free in 2.2 as it no longer warns me that extra charges apply. I was able to turn it on and set it up without a problem. Anyone know for sure?

5. wdprice3

wdprice3 Member

Ratings:
    +1
    interesting.... I heard that google was trying to push/force free tethering... guess you'll find out on your next bill!

I just reinstalled this app and connected to the hotspot, but it was slow as crap.... finally it did connect me to the vzw nickle and dime page....

NOT FREE.

#5 wdprice3, Sep 23, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  6. iguanad

iguanad Member

Ratings:
    +3