3G Hotspot

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by juarbed, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. juarbed

    juarbed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is Verizon going to offer an unlimited Hotspot plan? This 2Gb a month sucks.
     
  2. Humpa

    Humpa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I think your issue is with the price, and not the data limit.

    There is no actual data limit, just a price for going over that 2GB "limit".

    So, you can already use it to your heart's content, you just have to pay. So unless it is for business, and you can write it off, you might want to stick with usb tethering. Either that or root and use the android wifi tether app as opposed to VZW's wifi Hotspot app.
     
  3. juarbed

    juarbed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you do the rooting part? And does it work as good as the 3g hotspot.
     
  4. cgrimm9

    cgrimm9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    its in the hacks in the droid x part of the forums. all the stuff you need to know is there. just to let you know. it is not as fast as the verizons hotspot. 1500 kb compared to 700 kb a second. and also there is a possible chance that verizon could find out that you are using the teather and may charge a arm and a leg cause of it. you ever go over on minits and your 80 dollar phone bill turned into 400 dollars I can only imagine if they charged you for all that data. They may not but I would be cautious.
     
  5. CAPcadetJC

    CAPcadetJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the wifi tether app. I was told that the data plan is unlimited. Is it truly unlimited or is there also a 2GB limit on the normal data plan as well?
     
  6. Humpa

    Humpa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone data is "unlimited". The 3G Hotspot app uses a different protocol or something that VZW can monitor and control, so it doesn't show with your normal phone data. You have to pay $20/month for the 3G Hotspot app, and it has a 2gb limit - after that there is a per mb charge.

    Anything else that uses data, just uses your normal phone "unlimited" data. This includes pdanet, usb tether, wifi tether, etc.
     
  7. CAPcadetJC

    CAPcadetJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I just wanted to make sure that the guy wasnt blowing smoke up my :icon_eek: when he said it was unlimited. Coming from and iPhone on AT&T I was skeptic about it.
     
  8. Humpa

    Humpa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    They used to sometimes do things if you consistently went over 5gb a month - 5gb used to be the "fine print" cap on the unlimited plan. I think they did that more to catch/stop the people that were tethering without paying. But now these phones are even more data intensive. So they've either pushed that 5gb way back to 10 or 15gb, or they're just not doing anything and waiting for LTE before they change anything again.
     
  9. CAPcadetJC

    CAPcadetJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I looked up LTE, does that just mean 4G? If so 4G wont mean anything for us Droid X users right?
     
  10. Humpa

    Humpa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct .
     
  11. i can read

    i can read Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi I am new to this but, I just got a Fascinate and I rooted it. Do I need to call verizon and have them activate the app or do I just use it and they will charge me for it?
     
  12. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    You can either call and have it added or just fire it up and it'll take you a signup page.
     
Search tags for this page
fascinate 3g hotspot
,

how do i activate the 3g hotspot on samsung fascinate