3g getting slower and slower, yet we pay the same...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Detonation, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. TheOldFart

    TheOldFart Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +27
    I just ran speedtest. The default server location is Clifton, NJ. It is about 130 miles away. I got 124 kbps down and 187 up. Then I changed to the server in NYC. It is about 144 miles away. I got 2232 kbps down and 846 up. That is just 2 minutes apart. Try a couple of different server locations and see how much of a difference it makes. I also got slow speeds with the default server a couple of days ago, but did not try any other locations.
     
  2. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol i am about to just throw my phone out the window...
    -3g speeds are so bad i cant download apps... (everyone that lives near me has a F****** iphone)
    -3g looses connection all the time. (because cm7)
    -wifi barely work on my phone & never has.. ( wireless n router @ 5ghz)

    none of this was a problem a few months ago before the iphone...
     
  3. WugFresh

    WugFresh Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    You guys using no throttle modified services.jar?

    {{ WugFresh }}
     
  4. iNfAMOUS702

    iNfAMOUS702 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in a town where alot of ppl just can't afford VZW...I ran a speed test nd got 3.4 mbps...pretty fast

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Wug I dont think there is a throttle modded services.jar for the D2G

    TheSavageSquid says his Nitriscript throttle hack will work for it, but the script was made for the droid 2. Since the global and the 2 have totally different radios, among other things, I have a hard time wanting to try it out. Just look at all the problems that team Get-R-Done is having to make a D2 ROM run correctly for the global...

    I just LOVE how throttling is a part of every verizon phone, built right down into the core software.
     
  6. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Try setting your router to g mode. Most phones have a hard time working with n-band routers.
     
  7. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I know... I use my wireless n for connecting several devices on my network 2 computers & 2 tv's which pretty much require 300mbps, Or else 1080p is laggy.

    Id hate to sacrafice everyother device just to get wifi working on my phone haha

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,823
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +828
    Crazy,,,,Just ran several tests with 3 different servers. Averaged about 200kbps down and 500kbps up. I used to do about 700kbps down on average. Ran like 8 tests and I don't think a single one hit 300 down. Another 9 tests averaged 400 down with a best of 550.

    I'm not being throttled. I've been on wifi most of the last two months and have used less than half a gig of data total (I've hit over 1 gig maybe once in the year I've had my phone).

    I am running Liquid GB 1.3. Wonder if that has something to do with it (and, yes, I have updated towers). Is there a new baseband out by any chance?

    Anyway, I hope this persists. I will complain relentlessly until they offer me an early upgrade to LTE.
     
    #20 kodiak799, Mar 11, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  9. WugFresh

    WugFresh Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh, sorry... I have blinders on, I have a DX so I have a hard time seeing the big picture. I forget that every mod available for my device isn't applicable to the rest. Well... that sucks for those who can't do anything about being throttled... the whole reason I switched from AT&T to Verizon was to get better service, I would be really pissed if I kept getting a throttled connection, I guess we are getting bullied to hop on the 4G band wagon.

    {{ WugFresh }}
     
  10. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    No hard feelings :D but yes it does suck. I think a 5 GB cap as a 10 dollar minimum would be acceptable...not these crazy **** prices
     
  11. WugFresh

    WugFresh Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks :) Unfortunately for you, Verizon is well aware of their market share and I don't think they give a **** if a few customers get pissed off. Free market and perfect competition principles simply don't apply to companies as massive as Verizon... I mean, who else is a viable competitor? AT&T? Lol.

    {{ WugFresh }}
     
  12. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,823
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +828
    Most people (the 90% or so with little to no travel) have at least one other good option where they live.

    This is the tricky part of all this. They know they'll lose some customers, and that's fine. But when you factor in that the average customer is $100 a month (voice + data), there's not much margin for error when you try to squeeze even just $10 more out of us. You'd have to sign-up 10 people to the more expensive plan for every one you lose just to break even.
     
Search tags for this page

3g getting slower

,
didl get 3g
,
has 3g got slower
,
has 3g gotten slower
,

is 3g getting slower

,
ntc 3g getting slow
,
verizon 3g gets slow
,
verizon 3g service is getting slower
,
why is at&t 3g speed getting slower
,
will 3g get slower