1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

3g down? or is it just me?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dezymond, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,608
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    So, I never had any problems with my Droid til this morning when i booted it up around 9:30. Usually i like to check my email on my Droid now since it's much faster than booting up my computer.

    Well I boot up and my Droid can't connect to 3g, but wifi works. I am on Wifi on my Droid right now (11:16AM)

    So anyone else having problems with Verizon's 3g? Hope it's not my Droid...I got all my settings finally right and the Invisible Shield on it...Don't want a replacement.:icon_ cry:
  2. hendrix
    Offline

    hendrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had an issue once where i turned off wifi and 3g didn't come back on. Had to power cycle to get it back.
  3. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,608
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    i powered cycled like 3 or 4 times already. Even did a battery pull for the hell of it. Hasn't worked yet. It's off right now, I'll try again later after lunch or something.
  4. hendrix
    Offline

    hendrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am curious as to why you turn your phone off at all.
  5. rpere
    Offline

    rpere New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same issue since this morning ! 3g of verizon in SF looks down ! hope it is not my phone too ...
  6. MuGenXDroid
    Offline

    MuGenXDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same issues. I'm here in san jose, and it just doesn't want to work. I've tried rebooting and turning off my phone too... I was gonna try reprogramming it but i forgot the phone number to dial to program it... does anybody remember?
  7. godanigo
    Offline

    godanigo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *228

    I'm in SF proper and 3G has been working just fine this morning. It's a mystery.
  8. rpere
    Offline

    rpere New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it is ! that just works for 2 seconds right now.. i really think this is a 3g issue from verizon and not an hardware issue from the phone!

    PS : what do you mean by reprogramming ? can you detail it please?
    Thanks
  9. godanigo
    Offline

    godanigo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Programs your cell phone to get service from the closest towers....or something like that. Basically if you go across the country your phone is going to be used to getting service from your home, so reprogramming can make your phone use less battery and get better service....hypothetically. Someone, correct me if I'm wrong.
  10. rpere
    Offline

    rpere New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks but technically how can you do that ?

    Also ... just called verizon and yes... they are having 3g network issue since this morning and they are working on it ....
  11. godanigo
    Offline

    godanigo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dial *228 to find out :)
  12. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,608
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    My Droid isn't my main line right now. Waiting for my AT&T contract to expire. Had to get Verizon early for one of my family members, I can't put it down when im awake though:p
  13. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,608
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Awesome info.

    Did not know about the *228 number. Good to know they are having 3g issues and it's not my phone, been trying all morning. after about 20 minutes, the yahoo page finally loaded up, but still no good:mad:
  14. rpere
    Offline

    rpere New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3g is back !!!! long morning without it ! :(
  15. Pinshooter
    Offline

    Pinshooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    I'm surprised to hear that people are having trouble with the 3G today. I was working in Cleveland all day, and had no problems at all. Here at the house it goes WiFi, but outside I have had excellent coverage with the 3G all over Northeastern Ohio. Now, watch, tomorrow it will be crap...... that's the story of my life!
  16. robboxedit
    Offline

    robboxedit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    interesting post, I notice my nav was having trouble pinpointing me this morning. Im in los angeles and it was using wifi to appx my position. Glad to hear it was a 3g/verizon issue that seems to be fixed now because i had that sudden sinking feeling in my stomach that it was the Droid!

    p.s. love this phone!
  17. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,608
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    3g finally back up at around 2pm? I don't even remember. Seems it only effected the Bay Area...


    all morning without it sucked though. especially when i was in the waiting room