3g and wifi

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by thehulk20, Jan 30, 2010.

1. thehulk20

thehulk20 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone provide a brief summary of 3g and wifi?
    What are the pros and cons between them?
    Also, as far as the Droid and its many functions and applications, which one of the two are better to use?
    I'm asking because I am a complete rookie when it comes to tech stuff.

2. Jonny Kansas

Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

Ratings:
    +8,387
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    You've got a GOOGLE phone! Google it! Haha! No, but seriously...

3G - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Wi-Fi - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Anyone else, feel free to correct me on the following...

Basically, 3g is your connection to the cell network.

WiFi is your connection to a network...think of this like a laptop computer connecting to a network at Starbucks or anywhere else with free wifi.

Which one is better to use is really a question of what you're planning to do.

Personally, while I'm at home [where I have a secured wireless network setup], I use WiFi. This is MOSTLY because the coverage is iffy in my area. This ensures that my calls and texts go through and come through.

Additionally, if you're browsing the web and/or downloading things, the speed is considerably faster on WiFi, as it's utilizing the power of the internet connection, instead of talking to cell towers. Obviously, you're going to be closer to the router that's wired up to the internet than you will be to the tower.

If you don't have WiFi available at home, work, local McDonald's, etc, 3g is still the fastest you can download things on a cell phone that's not WiFi compatible.