1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

3g and wifi question

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by fastrek82, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. fastrek82
    Offline

    fastrek82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok.. is the 3g icon suppose to show when making a call? also notice that ill have 3 bars before a call once i make it it drops to 1-2 bars, is that normal?? and when i put on wifi my 3g icon shows also, is that normal??
    Thanks for your help...
  2. iDr0id
    Offline

    iDr0id New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have the phone but 3g and wifi would both be on seeing as if you were browsing the internet and the wifi disapeered, you would have 3g as a backup to continue your browsing, May be wrong but it seems logical. As for the bar droppage, when your phone connects a call it sends signal out, which i suppose would compensate for the bar droppage. Correct me if i am wrong
  3. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    When wifi is on and connected your 3g symbol should go away cause you phone is running off wifi for data and not your mobile connection. You will still have bars but that is for your voice stuff.
  4. fastrek82
    Offline

    fastrek82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats what i kinda thought, both stay on...
  5. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    No when you are wifi connected and say you have a drop in signal your 3g won't run as backup. Your phone will keep trying to connect to that wifi and until you get it you will get network errors. Then if you shut off wifi your 3g will pick it back up.
  6. fastrek82
    Offline

    fastrek82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok.. sorry im alittle confused, so when wifi is on 3g symbol should never show?
    cause now wifi is on and no 3g symbol..
    Thanks!
  7. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Right Wifi on the 3G symbol should go away.
  8. 1barlog17
    Offline

    1barlog17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA.
    HELP! With my wifi

    I just got my DX yesterday and i was having the same problem. My 3g symbol and wifi symbol were both in the status bar when i turned wifi on but neather were working i could not go to a web page untill I turned wifi off. Now today when I turn my wifi on the 3g goes away and wifi symbol comes up in notification bar the way its supposed to work but i cant go on the web my wifi is connected and has 4 bars but web page says it has no connection. It only works if i use 3g. Is my new droid messed up or am i missing a setting somewhere? Please help i don't want to have to exchange this one it took forever to get it.
  9. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I think you are just having the same problem most others are with wifi, my worked great for a few days and now won't connect at all no matter what settings I change on my router.
  10. 1barlog17
    Offline

    1barlog17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA.
    Any fix in the works?

    Have you heard if there is going to be a fix for this in any upcoming updates like the volume speaker issue?
  11. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I know they are aware of the issue on the wifi, and I know alot of people are having the speaker issue as well. Not sure if either of those will be addressed with 2.2 or not.
  12. ylimehajile
    Offline

    ylimehajile New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if the speaker issue is software related or not. Verizon gave me a new phone because of it. At least the speaker issue I had. Sometimes the sound coming from my external speaker was very faint. I was missing phone calls and couldn't hear videos, music etc. It was sporadic. I talked to Verizon tech support and they sent me a new phone. My new one doesn't have the issue. I would think if it was software related most if not all phones would experience it at some point.
  13. Dr.Dad
    Offline

    Dr.Dad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Slightly off topic, but with all of the battery issues/ wifi issues.... if you use wifi at home or at work, do you guys think it will help with the battery life?
    thanks
  14. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx

    Yes went a day at home with out wifi and my battery lasted 15 hours or so and was down to 20 percent. I am 1 day 1 h 14 m now and only down to 70 percent. Searching for 3g signal at my place definately uses battery up. I use network extender for calls, and wifi for data so always have connection.
  15. caveritt
    Offline

    caveritt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also get the wifi icon and the 3g. When this happens my wifi drops every few seconds making streaming slacker radio impossible from wifi.
  16. ctxx24
    Offline

    ctxx24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    If you have any other wireless devices connecting to the router there might be some conflicting IP issues. You can try to set "Enable Auto IP" and see if it improves.

    Head to Settings > Wireless & Network Settings > WiFi Settings > Hit the Menu Button > Advanced > Enable Auto IP.

    It worked for me....i got this off another forum and cant take credit...
  17. caveritt
    Offline

    caveritt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am getting a replacement tomorrow for a different issue but I will be interested to see if I still have wireless issues with the new phone. My router is 802.11g and is only using WEP so I know it could not be any of the other issues with 802.11n.

    Really disappointed that something as simple as wireless, which has worked perfectly since my HTC Vogue has problems on my DX.

    :mad:

    Makes me really consider switching over to the DInc.
  18. ctxx24
    Offline

    ctxx24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    did u try what i just said.....my wifi would come for a few and go off endless cycle i unchecked it and no more probs
  19. caveritt
    Offline

    caveritt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, that was one of the first things I tried when I started realizing I had a problem. Could this have anything to do with overclocking or rooting. Are their any non-root DX users out there that still have this problem.

    I changed my router to WPA-PSA (TKIP) and the disconnects and speed problems seem to be gone but the wifi toggle switch still is not working.

    I am still super ticked off at the DX. I have not seen this kinda crap since to days of the WinMo Treos. So from here I just need to go convince all the places I go that have WiFi to make sure they set there WAPs up with WPA so I can connect on my DX. Moto, Google, Verizon, whoever, really need to figure this out.
  20. gatewayad
    Offline

    gatewayad Guest

    Have had the DX for 3 days wifi sucks wont hold a connection keeps dropping in and out. mine is not rooted also having the volume issue cant hear ringing incoming calls. Guess I'll call Verizon again. May just return it and keep my D1 not sure if I want to go for #2 brings back bad memories of the never ending problems i had with the first BBStorm
Search tags for this page
android wps-pin
,
bars disappear when wifi on
,
does droid 3 support wps?
,

find the wps pin code for droid maxx phone

,
how to find wps pin on droid razr maxx
,
should 3g icon show when on a call
,

where can find wps pin in my driod

,
where can i find the wps pin for droid razor
,
where do i find wps pin for moto x phone
,

where to find wps pin for my droid razr maxx hd

,
where to find wps pin on droid razr maxx
,
wheres the wps pin on a droid
,
wps pin code for cyclone android x2
,
wps pin code htc rezound
,
wps pin for droid maxx'