3G/4G Tethering

PurpleTwinkie

Reaction score
***Could a Mod please change the thread title to "3G/4G Tethering" please? The system wouldn't let me.***

With the relatively inexpensive tethering apps available in the Market why do so many people root just for tethering privileges?

I have no need or desire to root my phone and was thinking of purchasing one of these apps so I can utilize my 3G/4G connection on my MacBook when on the road. Am I missing something or is this possible with a $10 app from the Market? I'm kinda new to Android (former BB user) and a little clueless.

Thanks for the help!

Sent from my DROID BIONIC

Last edited:

Hawaiian Princess

Reaction score
Aloha
updated ur title of the thread. rooting isnt for everyone & u certainly dont have too. ppl do it for free web access (not a good thing IMO) but ppl cant afford an extra $25+ but why get a smart phone right :blink:...lol. anyway to each is his/her own freedom. some want to customize their device, the option to chg the way their device looks. its all personal preference. its really up to the individual...

dezymond

Tech Support Mod
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
I believe it is possible with one of those apps from the market, though I do recall that they were taken off the market? Not completely sure though.

Regardless if you pay for the app or not, I do believe it's still in violation of your contract. Many people root to gain tether, because they want to tether for those rare times when need it, but they can't justify spending another $30 for the plan. I guess what I'm trying to get across is if you're tethering without the plan, Verizon has the right to terminate your contract as it is a breach.

xxpigxx

Reaction score
But ppl cant afford an extra $25+ but why get a smart phone right :blink:...lol. ...