3G -> 4G handoff while data is active?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by the3dolla, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. the3dolla

    the3dolla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I`ve driven into a 4G area twice now while streaming on TuneIn. The only way to get 4G is to reboot or turn airplane mode on and then off. The handoff from 3G to 4G happens without issue. Is this normal? I may try to not stream today to see if that makes a difference. Also, my home area is 3G.
     
  2. turnpike

    turnpike Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's a conflict with the CDMA/LTE internal settings ...according to verizon tech reps this is a nationwide issue i had the same issue when i went into a 4g area...go into your settings>> wireless>> mobile network settings>>change CDMA/LTE to CDMA
     
  3. the3dolla

    the3dolla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, yea I may just turn it off until my area gets 4G. I was 10 minutes into the 4G area last night and then it did switch over; my streaming audio completely stopped though.
     
  4. droidbionicmaster

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I dont have any issues lucky me i kept on on since New Hampshire 4g has expanded into 4 new cities. Yay! Finally

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
3g to 4g handover procedure
,
3g to 4g data handover
,

3g to 4g handoff

,
active data handovers
,
android wifi 3g handover
,
data handover from 3g to 4g
,
droid razr 3g handoff
,
verizon 4g handoff issue 2013
,
what occurs in a handover from 4g to 3g