.215 reversal?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by chelsea22, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. chelsea22
    Offline

    chelsea22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sure this has been talked about plenty, however I don't have the motivation to search and search and read through everything to find the answer...
    I have a droid razr and I installed the .215 leak, if we really are getting jellybean and have to go back to .211 how do I do this?

    Please just explain it instead of directing me to hundreds of pages worth of stuff i have to read through. I tried that and didn't get hardly anywhere. haha.

    Sorry for being such an inconvenience. =]
  2. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    This may not be the only way but it is the only one I am aware of...

    Going back to stock .211:
    *On your pc, download and install Matt's Razr Utility 1.8 or 1.81 or 1.82. You can find 1.82 here:
    Droid Razr Utility 1.82 [Windows] For Verizon Droid Razr And Droid Razr Maxx Only - DroidRzr.com
    *Extract that utility to its own folder on your computer...you must extract the file on your pc. It will not work from your phone.
    *After the utility is extracted, go to the Motorola drivers folder in the utility and make sure you have the latest Motorola drivers installed on your pc.
    *make sure your phone is set to usb debugging mode (menu>system setting>developer options).
    *Power your phone off. Then power your phone on while holding down your power, the volume up and volume down buttons simultaneously.
    *Connect your phone to your computer with the factory supplied usb cable.
    *On your phone select AP Fastboot, then in the utility select option 1..."restore phone to stock .211. Do not unplug the usb cable until the utility finishes.
    *When completed your phone should reboot to stock .211.
    *After running option 1, restart phone to make sure all is fine.
  3. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    You're not being an inconvenience, you're just being foolish. If you don't have the time to do some minimal research on how to return your phone back to stock before you flash a leaked update then you probably shouldn't be screwing around with your phone. It doesn't take long...just a little knowledge would save you a lot of potential problems. Most users here are more than happy to help someone who's having a problem...but come on, do a little research so that you don't need others to undo what you have done. Good thing for the Resue Squad!!
  4. chelsea22
    Offline

    chelsea22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Um foolish? I flashed my phone to this software months ago.. sorry I searched and read through stuff for hours last night for one person to say you had to do it one way and another saying you had to do it another way. Apparently most users who want to help don't include you. There was no reason for your snide remark when you didn't even attempt to answer the question that was asked.
  5. chelsea22
    Offline

    chelsea22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for kindly answering my question. Just want to be safe and know how to do it before the OTA update if/when we shall receive it.
  6. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Take it easy people, no reason for the rage

    Sent from my XT912 running Scalpel CM10 jelly bean
  7. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    My remarks were not meant to be "snide", if you took them that way then I apologize. But the point of my response remains unchanged, a point I'm not sure you gasped. When you wrote "Please just explain it instead of directing me to hundreds of pages worth of stuff i have to read through" to me that meant you weren't interested in learning the basic essentials of modifying your phone, you just want someone else to do it for you. Anyway, the method TisMyDroid gave you is the best method I know of. Good luck...hope you saved that thread somewhere you can find it 3 or 4 months from now.
  8. chelsea22
    Offline

    chelsea22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And as my statement after that one states, I did read pages upon pages. I'm sorry that there is over 150 pages on the thread And a fair share of those comments have nothing to do with the initial topic. If i wanted someone to do it for me I would simply find someone close to me and take it to them. Stand behind your comment all you want to, however this place is for people to learn, not to be criticized when they ask a question.
  9. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I agree Chelsea, sometimes it can be hard to weed through all the same info, some of it conflicting and some of it buried deep in a thread. And we are here to help and pride ourselves in doing so. I think jp's frustration comes from some who do not take the time to try. Either way, this forum is for asking questions and helping when we can.
  10. chelsea22
    Offline

    chelsea22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do apologize for causing such riff raff. Next time I'll be more careful.

    I do have a question that doesn't pertain to this topic... but is there a way to delete old threads? I had posted something but then figured out the answer and no one even commented on it. So I was jw.
  11. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Chelsea, no need to apologize. You are fine and using DF for its intended purposes. I am not exactly sure about the stock text msg app because I never use it but in go sms, if you long press on the thread, you have the option to delete the thread.
  12. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I think some people do get frustrated by people jumping on the forum asking "how do you do this?" "How do you do that?" And basically wanting someone to do all the work for them. And sometimes it's hard for people to tell the difference between those that are just lazy, and those who just need a hand. Kinda like welfare lol

    Sent from my XT912 running Scalpel CM10 jelly bean
  13. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Chelsea 22, you are not riff raff. I'll make sure I have more than one cup of coffee in the morning before responding to questions from now on, LOL. Sorry for the "more than direct than I needed to be" response you got from me. Your questions are always welcomed and there truly are a lot of experienced users and staff on this forum more than willing to help.
  14. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Thanks jpcalhoun! I get frustrated sometimes too... usually it is when someone gets mad when you're trying to help because you're not helping fast enough for their satisfaction. I attribute that too some people not realizing that we are all volunteering our time while juggling our real jobs, family and life.

    Now go get your coffee, lol!
  15. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Thanks TisMyDroid...my initial response to Chelsea was out of character for me, I really enjoy helping others when I can. I guess I was caffeine deprived and got out of bed on the wrong side this morning...I hope Chelsea won't run for cover the next time she sees "jpcalhoun" responding to a question, lol.
  16. chelsea22
    Offline

    chelsea22 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your apology! I am also sorry for retorting back to you. I posted this at about 3 in the morning my time after searching and trying to read through stuff, so I was also sleepy and should probably have worded things differently. I was so frustrated that I couldn't find the answer on my own.

    Anyways, I wasn't talking about a thread of texts, I was talking about threads on here, this web page. haha.
  17. Domo01SS
    Offline

    Domo01SS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. I'm a little confused!! So, when I extracted the utility, my first option in the utility is "adb.exe." Am I supposed to click that one while I have my Razr in Fastboot mode? Or which one in the utility am I supposed to click? I'm nervous to do anything else, So I'd rather get help from the big boys before I start doing things all willy nilly...!
  18. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Not sure what you'e done, but it looks like you haven't started the utility. After you have extracted the .zip utility file to its own folder (has to be its own folder) go into that folder and 1) install the drivers for your computer (32bit or 64bit). 2) After drivers have been installed, in the folder you created, find the .bat file. Double click the DroidRazrUtility.bat file, that starts the utility. You will see a "Press any key to continue...." Press a key, after the utility starts you will be presented with four options...option 1 restores your phone.
  19. Domo01SS
    Offline

    Domo01SS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. Got ya. But when you say "Its own folder," Do I have to make a different folder for it? THAT'S the part that confuses me. :blink::blink:
  20. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    306
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    The file is a .zip. so when you extract it just put it in a blank folder on your desktop. Yes, make one if you need to. Depending on the extracting program you are using (like 7zip) just put the zip in the new folder you created, right click it and choose extract here.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2