2.3 Update Help...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by MisterMartian, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. MisterMartian

    MisterMartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone.

    Ok, so I got my Droid 2 like a month ago, so I haven't even rooted yet. I'm not really completely satisfied with the look of a lot of the ROMs yet... but that's besides the point.

    Is there any way to trigger the 2.3 update. They FINALLY sent it to me yesterday, but I was in a meeting so I chose to update later. It told me it would resend the update in 12 hours. Me, being my impatient self, instantly went into search mode as soon as the meeting was over because I really wanted the update. Well, the System Updates option in my settings is grey out. I can't click it. I called Verizon and Motorola and they were both useless. What are my options here?
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    try pulling the battery and then seeing if its there?

    do u know if it ever downloaded?
     
  3. MisterMartian

    MisterMartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried that. It didn't work.

    Also, I've checked all the system information and it's still running 2.2.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    i mean you could try booting into recovery and just clicking apply update.zip to see if you actually have the vzw ota

    recovery is holding x while booting up
     
  5. MisterMartian

    MisterMartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help. I'll try that.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  6. MisterMartian

    MisterMartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It wouldn't let me run the software. :(

    Ugh. I guess I just have to wait.
     
  7. monkeydog

    monkeydog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just got my droid 2 last night and pressed system updates out of curiosity and it downloaded and installed 2.3.20 right there.... strange thing though under about phone it still lists android version as 2.2 but system version is 2.3.20 (Version.2.3.20.A955.Verizion.en.US)
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    same thing.
     
  9. MisterMartian

    MisterMartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My system version is still 2.2. I may call motorola back.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  10. MisterMartian

    MisterMartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Calling activation did it.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  11. Lenagainster

    Lenagainster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just got a D2 and activated it yesterday. After seeing this thread, I hit System Updates and the 2.3 started downloading immediately. Installed without a glitch.
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    As it should. But every once in a while something can go wrong. That
    s why if an update comes through I'd prefer to put the Update.zip file on my SD card and install it myself.