2.3.6 Now has a root method!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by smalltowngirl13, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. casper05lly

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rooted with no problem. Did titanium backup. Do I need to do a nandroid backup? I don't plan on flashing any roms

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  2. rvmclaughlin

    rvmclaughlin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    New to rooting.. I have been reading up on it. I got my new Razr the other day and I used Dan Rosenberg's method to root a few days ago. I knew, only because I read it somewhere, that you wouldn't be able to do the system update on a rooted phone. So, what I am reading in the post, just want to confirm, is that since I rooted with Dan's method, I can just hit the system update on my phone and I should be okay? This is the first time I am hearing of the VooDoo app. I guess I should install that. Just seems to simple, what did I over look?
    Thanks
     
  3. casper05lly

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes install voo doo root keeper. Stay on stock rom and don't remove stock apps and you will be able to update. The root keeper will allow u to keep root after update

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  4. Tsip85

    Tsip85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You mention not to remove stock apps, but I'm interested in rooting my Razr MAXX to get rid of all the bloat ware. Will I still be able to do OTA updates if I root, install VooDoo and remove some of the Verizon junk that I don't want/need? I'm comning from a rooted Droid that I flashed many ROMs on, but I don't really want to alter my Razr yet, just get rid of stuff to free up memory and possibly speed it up a tad or save a little battery life.
     
  5. casper05lly

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    U can root, but from what I understand u can't remove bloat ware. Think u can freeze apps but remove

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  6. Tsip85

    Tsip85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even through root explorer, I can't remove apps I don't want? I already have Root Explorer installed, but I can't do anything with it besides view the files because I'm not yet rooted.
     
  7. casper05lly

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. If the bloat ware is not there it will not allow it to update. Even if u freeze the bloat ware it has to be unfrozen to get update

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  8. Tsip85

    Tsip85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I gotcha. I can freeze the apps w/ TiBackup, and un-freeze if/when I want to update. I just picked up the phone today and immediately ran the update for 2.3.6, but there are so many apps I'm used to having w/ my Droid that I just have to root this thing. I figure freezing apps is good enough just to keep them from running as I doubt I'll come close to using 24GB of memory. But I still can't believe that all the system apps and bloatware take up 8 Gigs!!
     
  9. casper05lly

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya. I rooted to change font and screen shot app

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  10. Tsip85

    Tsip85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    B/C I'm new to this phone, and it's been a really long time since I rooted, you think you could PM me steps to do it? I read the link in the first post and it seemed a little vague. Also, do I need to install new drivers, or would the Motorola drivers i used to root my Droid be ok? I registerred for the Razr site linked to in another post, but I haven't received an email to activate the account so i can't see the drivers link or any of the other ones.
     
  11. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,124
    Likes Received:
    977
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,027
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force 2
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Tsip - you will most likely need the new drivers (they can be found in the OP of this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-hacks/198379-updated-droid-razr-utility-windows.html )...

    Once you download the root exploit, extract / open and plug your phone in via USB - make sure that USB debugging is enabled and you are in "charge only" mode...run the program (root exploit) - phone should reboot a couple of times thru the process...once completed, safely disconnect and you should be rooted.
     
  12. Tsip85

    Tsip85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Always nice to reboot and see "Superuser" in the app drawer! thanks for your help...that was the easiest root I've ever used! Thanks to the OP for the link and a huge thanks to the developer!
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge root 2.3.6
,
how to manually root android 2.3.6
,
how to root 2.3.6
,
how to root android 2.3.6 no computer
,

how to root droid charge 2.3.6

,
how to root droid razr 2.3.6 without computer
,
how to root samsung charge 2.3.6
,
root for android 2.3.6
,

root lgl35g without computer

,
rooting droid charge 2.3.6