2.3.6 Now has a root method!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by smalltowngirl13, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Credit to Dan Rosenberg for his work on this exploit. Link is here - Security Research by Dan Rosenberg

    It has been reported to successfully work on the Droid Razr running the .173 build...this should work for those of you who want root after the update or if VooDoo didn't protect / restore root.

    Standard Disclaimer - DroidForums.net, Dan Rosenberg or anyone else is responsible if this does not root your device or bricks your device. You are proceeding at your own risk.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,014
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,632
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Nice find! I'll add it to my repertoire of suggestions. Thanks! P.S. I'll make sure to give you credit for the find! ;-)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  3. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    The main credit goes to Dan Rosenberg and then a member over at our sister site posted it up over there...thought it would be good to share here as well...
     
  4. Shadowlord
    Offline

    Shadowlord Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    This does work on Droid Razr. First rooted yesterday with Doomlord V2, did upgrade without thinking, killed the root. Try other root versions, nothing. Saw this, tried it, works great and is easy. Thanks, Thought I was lost.:icon_ lala:
     
  5. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,014
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,632
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    I figured that Dan was the Dev, but you are still the one that brought it to us here, that's why I said "find". ;)
     
  6. mrmanners
    Offline

    mrmanners New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    subscribed. Anyone else use this yet?
     
  7. los187us
    Offline

    los187us New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my Razr a few days ago. The update was done at the time I purchased phone. I used this to root my phone and it worked, as far as I can tell. I am able to run titanium backup. But the problem I am having is I cannot use Mobile Hotspot. I am able to get it to my laptop to sign on but it says no internet connection or limited use (the yellow sign with ! on it). Does anyone have a solution for this? I tried 3 different laptops and the same problem.
     
  8. BiGG WiLL
    Offline

    BiGG WiLL Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rerooted with this and it works. Havent tried the hot spot yet but i will tonight.
     
  9. mrmanners
    Offline

    mrmanners New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, it worked or me.
     
  10. rosander05
    Offline

    rosander05 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    help running this method

    hey whats going on anyone know how to run this method step by step? i just got my maxx had the DX any help would be appreciated
     
  11. rachelequinn
    Offline

    rachelequinn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Eager to Try... where can i get the link and instructions....
     
  12. king12yan
    Offline

    king12yan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted last night and since then I have not data I have a red circle with a line through it over my data bars. I can't do anything right now, no phone calls or data. Anyone seen this before? Any help would be great.

    Edit: I did a factory reset and that didn't fix the problem. I called Verizon and they said that when you do a factory reset you have to remove the sim card other wise it will be erased. So now I have to head to the Verizon store to replace my sim card. It doesn't answer why my phone wouldn't connect before I reset but I hope that fixes it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  13. Datzneat
    Offline

    Datzneat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the zip but it's empty. Can anyone else confirm?
     
  14. king12yan
    Offline

    king12yan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fixed it!! I checked the baseband version and it was stating unknown. So I pulled the 2.3.6 update and did a manual recovery and I am back in business.
     
  15. jrws6
    Offline

    jrws6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 2.3.6 and this way worked first time go for me.
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge 2.3.6 root
,
droid charge root 2.3.6
,
how to root 2.3.6
,

how to root android 2.3.6

,

how to root droid charge 2.3.6

,

root 2.3.6

,
root 2.3.6 without computer
,

root android 2.3.6

,
root android 2.3.6 no computer
,

root droid charge 2.3.6