2.3.4 Firmware Update

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by pjniez, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. pjniez
    Offline

    pjniez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got the OTA firmware update to 2.3.4. Did anyone else get this?

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  2. kevozworld
    Offline

    kevozworld Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got it too Bro. Idk what it changed though.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  3. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I got it but it screwed up my phone. On reboot there was a triangle with an exclamation inside it with the little android character standing beside it.

    Good thing I thought to do a backup before I allowed the download to continue.

    It is supposed to help with something with the data connectivity.
     
  4. pjniez
    Offline

    pjniez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just noticed that I now have the new Android Market... I'm not sure what else has changed.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  5. kevozworld
    Offline

    kevozworld Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, it just popped up on mine too

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  6. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That triangle is the update applying if I'm not mistaken.

    Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
     
  7. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What will happen to this OTA for me if I'm rooted running stock ROM?
     
  8. PhDCow
    Offline

    PhDCow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just pulled it down since it didn't pop up automatically for me. Do we know what this is going to do? It said "enhancements" because that's oh-so-helpful.
     
  9. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will lose root and possibly S-off and recovery (idk) but updates should always be avoided by root users at all costs. If the update notification bothers you then i suggest installing a custom rom.

    Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
     
  10. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    No it wasnt the update being applied.

    That looks like an open box with the Android character standing in front of it.

    I'm stock rooted though.
    I had a feeling being rooted would interfere with the update.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
     
  11. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could I reroot after update?
     
  12. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Potentially, but I wouldn't risk it. If it only takes away root and not S-off and recovery then it would be as simple as flashing the superuser.zip again. If it does turn S-on though.... You could be waiting a few months on a new software S-off method

    Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
     
  13. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Has anybody else with stock rooted tried it yet? It also comes with a new radio I am interested in.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
     
  14. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    I wouldn't chance it until you hear from people who have done it. You can always manually flash the radio separately.
     
  15. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    I just did the update. Network signal went from 85-95 to 74 solid. The signal strength didn't change with hand position either. I've had five bars almost all the time now (all of thirteen minutes lol).

    Stock unrooted btw.

    This post is Incredible 2
     
Search tags for this page
adr6350 firmware download
,

adr6350 software update

,
adr6350 update
,
firmware htc adr6350
,
how to update htc adr6350
,

htc adr6350 official firmware

,

htc adr6350 software update

,
incredible2 clock won't add locations after software update
,
software upgrade for adr6350
,
stock recovery img for incredible2 2.3.4 firmware 6.01.605.0