2.2 w/1000mhz P3 kernel, do i need setcpu?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by AutoLuxLexES, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. AutoLuxLexES
    Offline

    AutoLuxLexES New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it seems like im posting everyday now, but im still really new to this so please bare with me.

    i installed the 2.2 froyo which i believe is rooted, because i have a superuser icon now.

    installed p3droids 600mhz low kernel first, but someone told me it was really slow, so i upgraded to the 1000mhz standard voltage p3.

    i noticed that the droid itself doesnt seem much faster, and sometime even laggier/slower to respond.

    does this mean that i need the setcpu to adjust the kernel? is there an available setcpu for the 2.2 yet? or does the newly installed kernel take care of itself in that i dont need to adjust anything?

    Thanks
    Charley
  2. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes you will need setcpu for froyo. and most roms as well
  3. Dudeicus_Maximus
    Offline

    Dudeicus_Maximus New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's important to use SetCPU. You can set profiles like Failsafe for when it reaches a user-specified temperature so you don't fry your pants yabbies and melt your phone. You can also set it to lower the clock speed and switch to On Demand or something like that when your battery reaches a user-specified percentage, when you plug your phone in, or when the screen is asleep.

    You can donate for the program in the Market or get it from the XDA Developers forum.
  4. AutoLuxLexES
    Offline

    AutoLuxLexES New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok that is very really good info that I was needing. I believe I came across xda info but if I remember correctly it did not have compatibility for the Froyo yet. Correct me if I'm wrong.
  5. AutoLuxLexES
    Offline

    AutoLuxLexES New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, i found it again, i misread. about to download it right now, but should i be getting the 1.54 or 1.6? and how do i go about installing it?
    Thanks
    Charley
  6. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I bought SetCPU from the market and use it to keep mine between 250MHZ - 550MHz.(Quadrant score 879)
    When I wake up(5:30AM) it's already in the 70s outside and gets in the high 90s.(soon to be in the 100s)

    I don't have lag and it's much faster than stock 2.1
    If you are having problems with the kernel you could try Chevy's kernel.
    Also some people say that Overclock widget works.
    I haven't tried it and most people have problems with it.
  7. AutoLuxLexES
    Offline

    AutoLuxLexES New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea. Ill take a look into it. I've heard a lot of good things about Chevy's kernels. Is there a certain Chevy kernel that you recommend?
  8. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm using ChevyNo1-1.0Ghz-ulowV-7slot-update.zip but some have problems with the ULV kernels.
    My Sleep/Standby settings are 400MHz Max and 250 Min.
    I haven't updated the baseband and it's been 1d 1h 33m.
    I still have 50% battery life left.
  9. ddarvish
    Offline

    ddarvish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is amazing. what do you have your normal clockspeed at when ur working with the phone? I have the same kernal but with the new froyo baseband and can maybe make it half a day right now so i wanna narrow down what is killing my battery.

    before on BB 1.1 i was getting a day easily. i wonder if i can downgrade my baseband again....
  10. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Posted it in another post above.
  11. AutoLuxLexES
    Offline

    AutoLuxLexES New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried the overclock widget and it seems to be working. Ill try it out for a little and see how I like it
Search tags for this page

lg ally kernal