1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

2.2 Update Messed Up My Contact Ringtones

Discussion in 'Droid Stock Help' started by hbniner, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. hbniner
    Offline

    hbniner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    Hello Everyone,

    I got the 2.2 (Froyo) update yesterday via OTA and it seems to have messed up some of my ringtone settings. I had to manually reset my alarm ringtone to what I previously had it in 2.1. A few of my text ringtones I set for my contacts had to be manually changed as well. My main issue is with ringtones I've assigned in my contacts for phone calls.

    I have 6 contacts in which a set a specific ringtone to for phone calls. After the update, all of them have a random ringtones assigned. All of my other contacts are set to the default ringtone. When I open a contact, I open the menu and select Options. I click on Ringtone and a list of all my ringtones appears. When I select the ringtone I want, it plays and then I hit Ok. The Ringtone still displays the wrong ringtone. I ask the person to call me and the wrong ringtone plays. I've also put my contact in edit mode and I didn't see an option to change a ringtone.

    I've restarted and pulled the battery. My phone is not rooted...yet.

    Thanks for any help/input.
  2. Moon Doggie Donna
    Offline

    Moon Doggie Donna New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same problem

    My ringtones got screwed up as well. And I don't know where the ringtones I downloaded can be found. They are not with the preloaded ringtones that came with my phone (which really suck anyway).
    Can someone please tell me where I can find my downloaded ringtones?
  3. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It depends on what app you used to download them with, for example if it was Mabillo then they should be in a folder on your SD card named Mabillo

    The best thing to do with downloaded ringtones and notification tones is...on your SD card make a folder and name it media then inside of that folder make three folders one named ringtones, one notifications, and one alarms then drop all of your newly downloaded ringtones/alarms/notifications in the according folders, then when you go into settings/sounds/ringtones your new mp3 files will show up in the selection box with the system ringtones
  4. Moon Doggie Donna
    Offline

    Moon Doggie Donna New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks

    Thanks for the help. It worked :)
  5. hbniner
    Offline

    hbniner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    The ringtones that I was using prior to the 2.2 update came from the default music player. There's an option that allows you to use your mp3 files as a ringtone. From my SD card, I would copy the songs from the music folder into the alarms and ringtone folders. This no longer works.

    I'll create a media folder and place the ringtones there to see if that works like you suggested. Thanks
  6. hbniner
    Offline

    hbniner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    Creating a media folder didn't fix my issue. All it did was create duplicate copies of my ringtones. I still can't change my contact ringtone for phone calls.

    Any other suggestions?
  7. havalinaaa
    Offline

    havalinaaa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I had the same problem and tried about 100 things. Finally I gave up and did a factory reset, no problems since.
  8. hbniner
    Offline

    hbniner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    I ended calling Verizon and they told me that they are aware of the issue and have notified Motorola. They are unsure if Motorola will come out with a minor update or wait until the next Android update (2.3?).

    There's no ETA so I ended up doing a factory reset like you and that did work. Thanks for the update.
Search tags for this page

how do i get more alarm tone on my droid 2.2.3

,

should android update have updated my ringtones?

,

was does my droid mess up my created ringtones

,

will putting addresses in my galaxys3 mess up my alarm