1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

2.2 Update Makes Original Droid Unusable

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by fopicius, Aug 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fopicius
    Offline

    fopicius New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the 2.2 update yesterday OTA. Since then I have had so many problems, i cannot hardly use my phone. Here is a list of the things that are going on. Has anyone else had these problems?

    Dropping 50% of all calls
    Phone will shut itself off once a day, then will not restart unless the battery is removed
    Random music will start playing from my library, but not from the music player. I open the music player and it says nothing is playing?
    Every time I select a contact from call log, it calls the person right below.

    Please help me!
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Sometimes when you do an update you have to clear things up. Most of the time it will work fine, but every once in a while someone will hit an issue.

    First, make sure you don't have any task killers running or antivirus. Don't have that? Then try doing a Factory Data Reset out of your privacy section. You will have to re-download some of your free apps and you'll have to sign back into the phone, it will be like brand new only with 2.2.

    If the issue persist, I'd take it to Verizon. It's their update, if it messed up your Droid they should take care of it for you.
  3. fopicius
    Offline

    fopicius New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do have task killer running. Do they cause problems with 2.2?
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    It's been known to cause problems with every OS. We don't recommend you use it.

    That's just a first step, I can't promise you it will cure your problem. Do that and if that doesn't work try the factory data reset.
  5. azrattlers14
    Offline

    azrattlers14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I figured I would just chime in and let everyone know that I attempted to install the new 2.2 update today at lock up my phone. I do not us any task killers or virus software on my phone. Everytime I would start my phone after 2.2 update it would not proceed beyond the Motorola Logo.

    Took it to Verizon Today and they couldnt get it to boot. Even after a Factory Reset. They are overnighting me another Droid 1. The Verizon employee at that store has seen 4 Droid phones at his store alone with the same issue. Not good.
  6. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Hey, new phone though!

    This is a wild guess but I'm thinking that the internal memory has gone bad...like a bad MBR on a desktop/laptop. Stuff happens.

    Another thing to try before factory reset is reboot in safe mode. This runs the phone but temporarily disables apps. If the phone works fine in safe mode then you know that one of your apps is the problem.
  7. azrattlers14
    Offline

    azrattlers14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yes, New phone, I had questioned whether it would be a refurbished or not and because of the know issue with the update, they are sending a new boxed Droid. Not a refurbished

    I had tried the safe mode myself with no success. Even the Verizon rep. tried safe mode before the attempt at factory reset. No luck with either. I am [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]definitely going to try to update the new Droid I get to 2.2 before I go and install all my apps again. Just so I don't spend the time re-building my phone to then do the 2.2 update. I hope I can, because my friend has a original Droid as well and his has not given him the option to update to 2.2 yet. So I guess Im not sure how they are choosing who can update to the new 2.2 and who cant yet.

    I guess I will find out on Tuesday. Thanks
    [/FONT]
  8. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Well you had some bad luck. Don't worry about the 2.2 update wrecking your phone again, because I think it's highly unlikely. I would install apps under 2.1. Should be OK next time around.
  9. Ryank10909
    Offline

    Ryank10909 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    If all else fails, root your phone and put a custom rom on it, i was having the same problems, got it rooted, now running better then EVER! adn just the way I want it! not the way verizon wants it to. i have screen shots to show you some of the up's of that. i uploaded some pix of what ive done, so hope itll help you make up your mind.:icon_ banana:dancedroid
  10. Cyndi
    Offline

    Cyndi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having some of the same issues. My phone just keeps crashing and I have to pull the battery to even turn it off. I uninstalled the task killer and I don't have an anti-virus. Please excuse the silly question but how do I boot into safe mode? I will try that next before heading to Verizon.
  11. Uncle700
    Offline

    Uncle700 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got the 2.2 update today and the only problem was with the gps putting me in the wrong location, but this was fixed after about 10 minutes. Running stock droid with no task killers or anti-virus. Love the updated exchange features of adding signature, sorting by last name and exchange directory search built in.
  12. m3shelly
    Offline

    m3shelly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phone won't boot after update

    I can't believe this! If I had known it was going to be a problem, I would have skipped the update. I told it to 'wait until later' all day today, then decided to allow it to update during my drive home from work. Now I have no phone, no internet, no e-mail, nothing - just an unusable phone with the Droid logo on the screen, permanently.

    I tried removing the battery twice. Does anyone else have any ideas on how to fix this?
    Thanks
  13. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Fyi, I did the manual update last week and have not experienced any of the problems you have mentioned ... odd!
  14. TopDroid
    Offline

    TopDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    My phone was screwing up bad since the FRG01B OTA update. I took off task killer and removed alot off stuff and still it was bad. It was basically done for. Wouldnt even boot. I took it to Verizon and they gave me a BRAND new Droid 1! Running 2.1! BTW, does anyone know of a OTA update of 2.2 FRG22 rolling out anytime soon for Droid 1? Ive read some things about but no good answer.
  15. xcarsx
    Offline

    xcarsx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Major issues with 2.2 upgrade!!!!

    Since running the OTA 2.2 upgrade I have had several problems. All my ringtones are mixed up, My notification tones are as well. Everything seems to have slowed down, rather than speeding up as I was expecting. I do use a task killer and have found that it no longer kills the requested running apps, at least not all of them. I do use Lookout for anti-virus. I'm not at all happy with the upgrade and am finding apps force closing frequently. Even my Bluetooth force closes. I'm not sure how to proceed at this point. I loved my phone until all this began happening. It just seems that there are a lot of bugs in this upgrade. Is there a chance that because of the issues that a "patch" or revised upgrade would come out?
  16. aowen7a
    Offline

    aowen7a New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TRUST ME! you guys are not the only ones with the froyo update for 2.2 ! i was in verizon today with problems with my droid 3 people came in with completely unuseable phones! i dont know if you'd call it "bricked" persay but all they would do is boot to the Motorola "M" in the beginning then they were stuck there!!! then when the service tech tried reloading 2.1 on them they completely "BRICKED" like wouldnt boot wouldnt even power on !!! people were pissed! On a better note all 3 were offered the "Droid-X" for their trouble!
  17. b-radisrad
    Offline

    b-radisrad New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The 'ville
    I have extremely long startup times. I have to wait approximately 10-15 minutes for the phone to completely startup if a I do a battery pull or turn the phone off. Once the phone is running it is ok, no other problems to report.
  18. Wreckincars
    Offline

    Wreckincars New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Mine did the same thing. It just has the "M". I work second shift so I have to wait till tuesday morning to take it in.
    So you could say, Everyone who's phone was a little disorganized, be happy. Mine is a paper weight:icon_evil:
  19. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    To everyone with update problems;

    If you can boot to the home screen, try installing a different version of the update, available here:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ircus-continues-frg01b-official-get-here.html

    The method for forcing the install is here:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-general-discussions/66044-official-froyo-rollout-thread.html

    The first link is to a file that reinstalls the same update you have on there, but it rewrites the entire system rather than patching it. Net result is a cleaner install that has fewer issues and less lag. The first boot may take some time.

    To those of you who cannot get out of a boot loop, try going to the rescue squad forum.

    Rescue Squad - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    They have lots of threads and advice and the members are the best.
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    See my previous post to force-update your system to the current 2.2 build. :)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
zte v9 factory reset
,

zte v9 hard reset