2.2 roms wont work on my droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by b0n3s, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. b0n3s

    b0n3s Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok here's the problem I'm having, it seems as though any froyo rom I've tried doesn't take to my droid to well. I've tried around 7 various 2.2 roms and they all lock my phone up completely after a reboot. If I let it sit and don't touch it for about 15 minutes it seems to run smoothly after that.

    If tried so many tricks and tips I've searched for dealing with this problem.

    Am I doing something wrong or is my phone unworthy of froyo?
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Let me guess....you're using rom manager to install them?
     
  3. b0n3s

    b0n3s Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep that is what I've been using.
     
  4. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Get rid of it. Install sprecovery on your droid and flash through that. After you have sprecovery installed report back and i'll help you set up a rom. :D
     
  5. b0n3s

    b0n3s Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK will do I think this is the only thing I haven't tried LOL thank you!
     
  6. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    You're so welcome!! :D

    P.S. :shocked: I forgot to confirm one thing: Are you rooted????? lol
     
  7. b0n3s

    b0n3s Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a big ten four
     
  8. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Okies carry on :D
     
  9. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Sorry to sound noobish but I have a few roms I want to try. What is the best procedure to use to install them through sprecovery?
    I've seen the unzip, place in root, and the rename update.zip.
    Help? :)
     
  10. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm not sure what you mean by "I've seen the unzip". You do NOT unzip the file you download. You simply rename it to update.zip (make sure you don't put 2 .zip extensions) and place it on the root of your sdcard. Also you need to make sure the rom you want to flash is specifically designed for sprecovery and not clockwork. If you aren't sure, please give me the link and I'll let you know :D

    P.S. Don't apologize for being a noob :D We all were at one point and it's my pleasure to help you! :D
     
  11. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Its metickmod's 2.2 blackbar. Sorry I'm in tapatalk, hard to link!
     
  12. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    From Woodyman:

    Installation Instructions [SPRecovery]
    1) Download the ROM of your choice
    2) Rename to "update.zip" and place on the root of your SD Card
    3) Reboot into SPRecovery
    4) Select "install" from the SPRecovery menu
    5) Select "allow update.zip"
    6) Select "Install update.zip Depreciated"
    7) Let it install your ROM
    8) Press power button to return to main screen of SPRecovery
    9) Select “reboot system now”
    10) Let the ROM load
    _____a. If the ROM is deodexed then the first boot will take a long time, every other reboot will go by fast
    _____b. In my ROM, the screen will be black because the bootanimtion doesn’t repeat or loop, just be patient it will load
     
  13. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes that can be used fine as an update.zip in sprecovery as BayouFlyFisher says above. PLEASE make sure you make a backup BEFORE installing ANYTHING on your droid (especially when you don't know what you're doing). If you don't know how let me know.
     
  14. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Already have a stock+root backup and a stock+root+Chevy's lv kernel backup. Thanks!
     
  15. NeverEndingXsin

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay i have been running clockwork recovery for months and have used it to install every 2.2 rom that ive used (bugless, sapphire, lithium, blackdroid, and chevy) so i dont think its a problem with your clockwork recovery.

    make sure before installing a new rom to ALWAYS wipe data/cache COMPLETELY
     
Search tags for this page
free download roms for mame droid4
,
free rom for mame4droid s4
,
how to install coolroms on droid a855
,
my rom wont load on my android
,

my rom wont work

,
roms wont download on android
,
roms wont work on my phone
,
why dont gba roms work on android 2.3
,
why wont mame work on my phone
,

why wont my roms work