1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

2.2 roms wont work on my droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by b0n3s, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. b0n3s
    Offline

    b0n3s New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok here's the problem I'm having, it seems as though any froyo rom I've tried doesn't take to my droid to well. I've tried around 7 various 2.2 roms and they all lock my phone up completely after a reboot. If I let it sit and don't touch it for about 15 minutes it seems to run smoothly after that.

    If tried so many tricks and tips I've searched for dealing with this problem.

    Am I doing something wrong or is my phone unworthy of froyo?
  2. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Let me guess....you're using rom manager to install them?
  3. b0n3s
    Offline

    b0n3s New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep that is what I've been using.
  4. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Get rid of it. Install sprecovery on your droid and flash through that. After you have sprecovery installed report back and i'll help you set up a rom. :D
  5. b0n3s
    Offline

    b0n3s New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK will do I think this is the only thing I haven't tried LOL thank you!
  6. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    You're so welcome!! :D

    P.S. :shocked: I forgot to confirm one thing: Are you rooted????? lol
  7. b0n3s
    Offline

    b0n3s New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's a big ten four
  8. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Okies carry on :D
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Sorry to sound noobish but I have a few roms I want to try. What is the best procedure to use to install them through sprecovery?
    I've seen the unzip, place in root, and the rename update.zip.
    Help? :)
  10. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    I'm not sure what you mean by "I've seen the unzip". You do NOT unzip the file you download. You simply rename it to update.zip (make sure you don't put 2 .zip extensions) and place it on the root of your sdcard. Also you need to make sure the rom you want to flash is specifically designed for sprecovery and not clockwork. If you aren't sure, please give me the link and I'll let you know :D

    P.S. Don't apologize for being a noob :D We all were at one point and it's my pleasure to help you! :D
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Its metickmod's 2.2 blackbar. Sorry I'm in tapatalk, hard to link!
  12. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    From Woodyman:

    Installation Instructions [SPRecovery]
    1) Download the ROM of your choice
    2) Rename to "update.zip" and place on the root of your SD Card
    3) Reboot into SPRecovery
    4) Select "install" from the SPRecovery menu
    5) Select "allow update.zip"
    6) Select "Install update.zip Depreciated"
    7) Let it install your ROM
    8) Press power button to return to main screen of SPRecovery
    9) Select “reboot system now”
    10) Let the ROM load
    _____a. If the ROM is deodexed then the first boot will take a long time, every other reboot will go by fast
    _____b. In my ROM, the screen will be black because the bootanimtion doesn’t repeat or loop, just be patient it will load
  13. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Yes that can be used fine as an update.zip in sprecovery as BayouFlyFisher says above. PLEASE make sure you make a backup BEFORE installing ANYTHING on your droid (especially when you don't know what you're doing). If you don't know how let me know.
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Already have a stock+root backup and a stock+root+Chevy's lv kernel backup. Thanks!
  15. NeverEndingXsin
    Offline

    NeverEndingXsin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay i have been running clockwork recovery for months and have used it to install every 2.2 rom that ive used (bugless, sapphire, lithium, blackdroid, and chevy) so i dont think its a problem with your clockwork recovery.

    make sure before installing a new rom to ALWAYS wipe data/cache COMPLETELY
  16. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    The issue isn't with Clockwork. The issue is with Rom Manager. If you use Clockwork as a stand-alone recovery program, I agree with you, it works fine. But it seems more and more frequently that if someone is having wholesale problems with stuff, it almost always turns out the common denominator is Rom Manager.
  17. Nick177th
    Offline

    Nick177th New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I concur. No problems at all here either.
  18. NeverEndingXsin
    Offline

    NeverEndingXsin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive never had any issues with Rom Manager either. i almost always do my installs from in there and just let the phone do all the work.
  19. b0n3s
    Offline

    b0n3s New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well after a day of toying around with sprecovery and kangerade v1.0 I'm still getting the same side effects....
    I have a feeling it has something to do with the cpu/kernal, but I've tried a lot of different kernals so I'm at the end of the road.
    I suppose ill stick with cm5.0.8 since it runs like a champ on my phone...

    P.s. after a fresh install I let the market restore my apps I read somewhere that could play an effect.
  20. b0n3s
    Offline

    b0n3s New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I couldn't leave well enough alone so I'm running liquid frozen yogurt v1.6 it seems alright. The thing is after a reboot you cant mess with it for around ten minutes but after that it runs pretty well. Sometimes it will have a fast reboot then smooth sailing after that.

    Is there any danger with this happening or is it just a pain in the rear?
Search tags for this page
free download roms for mame droid4
,
free rom for mame4droid s4
,
how to install coolroms on droid a855
,
how to make mame work on droid dna
,
my android roms wont work
,
my rom wont load on my android
,

my rom wont work

,
ps1 roms wont work for android
,
roms android mydroid
,
roms wont download on android
,
roms wont work on my phone
,
why dont gba roms work on android 2.3
,
why wont coolrom work on my phone
,
why wont mame work on my phone
,

why wont my roms work