2.2 Froyo and Verizon Fascinate

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by Hawaiian1der, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. Hawaiian1der
    Offline

    Hawaiian1der New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know that someone out there has started this, but I was wanted to now how I could port Froyo to be able to work with the Verizon Fascinate. I know I'm a newbie and that someone definitely will say that this will be way out of my league, but I am ready and willing to go to any length to learn. If someone out there is willing to teach me something, I am an incredibly fast learner.

    Please and Thank you,
    Cameron
     
  2. Nick177th
    Offline

    Nick177th Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Fascinate has already been rooted. It was rooted before it even hit the shelves. I can't direct you to the exact post but, search around. You may be able to find it under the "Fascinate" section of this forum. Now, as far as actually rooting your phone, please, please, please read up on it first. I'm a Droid 1 owner. You'd have to run over a D1 with a tank to "brick" it. Not sure about the Fascinate. Go to the "Droid hack" section to get the ins and outs of rooting.
     
  3. Hawaiian1der
    Offline

    Hawaiian1der New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't mean rooted by all of that. I meant get Froyo 2.2 on the Fascinate. I rooted the phone the first day I got it.
     
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    It's not available for the Fascinate yet. When it becomes available they will do an OTA distribution. You can check here from time to time to see if we have any news regarding when this will happen. Right now there is no estimate. There are no leaks yet either.
     
  5. Hawaiian1der
    Offline

    Hawaiian1der New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, see what I was thinking was that someone usually just ported the OSs.

    Sent from my SCH-I500
     
  6. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think anyone has made a froyo rom for the Fascinate yet. We are stuck with 2.1 for now.
     
  7. tvett05
    Offline

    tvett05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What happens when they send out a over-the-air update to Froyo and you have a rooted phone with 2.1? Do you have to manually install a ROM or does the phone get updated?
     
  8. Hawaiian1der
    Offline

    Hawaiian1der New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't take this word for word, but I do think that you can unroot a phone. I'm not sure if having thebroot in the first place would screw with the OTA updates, but you can unroot it. Just in case :p

    Sent from my SCH-I500
     
  9. destroyerbmx
    Offline

    destroyerbmx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can unroot, rageinthecage will max out your process allowing the last open process to keep you in super user. With those privilidges you install the SU command in the system and the .apk program to access it anytime. All you really need to do is remove the rage, SU command and APK, and you're all set with no way to tell you even did it. Clockwork is a little more than that as that reflashes your recovery, you need to restore recovery through odin or CWM package.
     
  10. freeformlaw
    Offline

    freeformlaw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay bud i found your post today and i have been running a 2.2 rom.
    It's not perfect yet but they are getting there.

    [ROM] Vanilla Froyo v0.2 - xda-developers

    have fun with it and heads up it does not work on DL09
     
  11. Genetic Droid
    Offline

    Genetic Droid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
Search tags for this page

froyo 2.2 samsung fascinate verizon