2.2.1 update broke Swype

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mitchb2, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Updated this morning and Swype didn't work. I uninstalled and reinstalled it (still had the apk on my card), still no worky.

    Anyone else?

    Edit: unrooted D1, btw.
     
    #1 mitchb2, Dec 11, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010
  2. joekinde

    joekinde New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same thing occur, but Swype worked after I uninstalled and reinstalled both the installer and the app. Did you disable and then re-enable swype as the default keyboard?
     
    #2 joekinde, Dec 11, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010
  3. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't uninstall the installer last time, so I just uninstalled both and reinstalled, and it still doesn't work. Swype is the default keyboard, and it shows the blue line as I Swype, but no text appears. Touch typing does work.

    What's the latest apk? Maybe mine is old.
     
  4. lilcdroid

    lilcdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +5
    ONLY FOR REGISTERED BETA USERS. Droid1
    This is the new beta as of 12-5-10. Manuver to the link with your phone and install the new installer. Then run installer.
    Make sure you un-install the swype and installer apk's currently on your phone first. Then download.
    Note: this is a link to the installer only. You must already have a login and password id.
    http://betainfo.swype.com/t/r/l/sdyijl/hditpyur/y
     
  5. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweeeeeet! That did it. Glad I remembered my login.

    THANKS!
     
  6. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a reason they are doing this annoying registration/beta process while other phones seem to have it preinstalled?
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's in beta for phones that it's not preinstalled on. Despite what many apparently believe beta != "free to distribute".
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Closed beta is not.
     
Search tags for this page

swype 2.21.63

,
swype android 2.2.1
,
swype version 2.21.63