1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

2.1 update + rooted 2.1 update

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by evilxhwnd, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. evilxhwnd
    Offline

    evilxhwnd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all,

    The following is an unsigned 2.1 update with the recovery image removed. This will allow you to upgrade to 2.1 and keep your current recovery image. To use this, reboot into recovery mode, choose install and then install update.zip.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/967526/update.zip

    Next is a rooted nandroid backup of 2.1. It has busybox and adb enabled by default. This version does not include the baseband like the top version.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/967526/2.1 rooted.zip

    MD5 Checksums:
    b702a8a345e9ab49932055e109ac47e2 update.zip
    f7756ddf9291eb3825b77f6c1292aa01 2.1 rooted.zip
  2. tats_06
    Offline

    tats_06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.mydroidworld.com
    Thanks evilxhwnd!!! :)
  3. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    Thank you for posting this.
  4. bL33d
    Offline

    bL33d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    first update.zip gave error gonna try nanroid backup...
  5. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    This worked for me using sprecovery. Make sure you choose allow update.zip installation before choosing to install (depricated).
  6. iamfil
    Offline

    iamfil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The update.zip requires you to have stock 2.0.1. It is meant only to update ESD56 to ESE81. It will check for various parts of it before patching and fail if they are not found.
  7. jimmiem
    Offline

    jimmiem New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you root ESE81? Is there a way to use the nandroid backup without losing all your data?
  8. bL33d
    Offline

    bL33d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    Nandroid did not work either... get error message used sprecovery....
  9. apl3
    Offline

    apl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    connecticut
    Just to clarify but will this patch a rooted 2.01 to rooted 2.1 or should I revert back to unrooted 2.01 and then patch to 2.1 rooted?
  10. iamfil
    Offline

    iamfil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For the update.zip, you need unrooted 2.0.1 (stock boot image and system image). It will check what you have before patching and fail if it is not stock 2.0.1. It is only meant to update ESD56 to ESE81 without touching the recovery image. The nandroid backup contains a rooted 2.1 version that you can use regardless of boot image or system image that you have installed.

    The nandroid backup does not wipe data. I usually wipe though. I think you might have to if you are coming from 2.0.1.

    What error message did you get? Also, post a screenshot if you can. I've just restored back to stock and then restored again with the nandroid backup and it worked fine.
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  11. tominabox1
    Offline

    tominabox1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MD5 error on ClockWork recovery with the nandroid. I'm running BB0.9 right now. Any ideas?
  12. iamfil
    Offline

    iamfil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. tominabox1
    Offline

    tominabox1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    checking with SPRecovery as we speak...
  14. iamfil
    Offline

    iamfil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That should work, I believe the two make backups that are not compatible.
  15. tominabox1
    Offline

    tominabox1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not entirely true, I restored a nandriod backup from SPRecovery in Clockwork last night but I may have been lucky
  16. tominabox1
    Offline

    tominabox1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Negative on the SPRecovery - exited with error 21. Oh well. Guess I'll wait until its in a good ROM.
  17. Humpa
    Offline

    Humpa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Huh? I thought they were 100% incompatible. Did I miss something - is this something new?
  18. tominabox1
    Offline

    tominabox1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just ignore what I said, I dont even know what i have on my phone anymore lol. I need to start from scratch so I'm not confused.
  19. tlogank
    Offline

    tlogank New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I must be thick this morning, but I'm trying to figure out which I need.

    I am rooted, but on 2.0.1 (I had BB 0.8 but restored my stock backup after about 5 minutes). So I assume I am rooted, but just running the stock OS version? I don't really care if I'm rooted or not right now, I just want to know if I can use either of these updates and retain all my data/settings? If so, which one do I need to run since I am still rooted.
  20. apl3
    Offline

    apl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    connecticut
    If I use nandroid to install the root.zip will I still have nandroid when I am done. Sorry if this seems like a silly question I just want to make sure I fully understand this. thank you again.
Search tags for this page

2.1 update.zip

,
how to put recovery image on samsung fasciante 2.1