2.1 update problem - possible brick

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Valorale, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. Valorale

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did a manual update of 2.1. Downloaded the update, rebooted phone holding X. Did the volume up + camera button. Ran the update. Update completed, selected reboot.

    Now when it tries to boot, I just get the red Droid eye and the white Droid logo alternating. Ive let it go for a half hour and it never makes it past this screen.

    Any thoughts? =(
     
  2. DigiK

    DigiK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try reapplying the update.
     
  3. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +169
    If you're seeing the white "M" logo, you're not bricked.
     
  4. Valorale

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was my first thought, reapply the update.

    When I hit X I get the triangle !. But when I try to hit volume up and camera button, nothing happens. Tried this about 5 times.
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just push the volume and camera at the same time. Then when nothing happens let go of the camera button and push it again. The menu should pop up.
     
  6. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can't brink a droid...... it's smarter then that!
     
  7. Valorale

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea took a little fiddling but I got it to pop up. Reapplied the update, no luck again, same problem.
    I downloaded the update again, going to try that.
     
  8. Nick177th

    Nick177th Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Relax Valorale. There are some really smart folks on the board. They'll get you through it. As long as you get the "Red eye" as an earlier poster stated, you're not bricked. I'm sure you'll be up and running in no time.
     
  9. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,167
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,733
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Button press order

    Press volume button first, hold it then press and hold camera button. Works every time.:icon_ banana:
     
  10. Valorale

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No luck again ... any other thoughts?

    Thats good to know Nick, im not too worried if the phone will work again, just bummed out as like everyone else, ive been looking forward to this update
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,167
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,733
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Dear Valorale,

    I suggest you start from scratch...download the update again. I wouldn't be surprised if the original file is corrupted. There is no other reasonable explanation as to why it would not take. If you renamed the file properly and saved it in the card's root directory, then if the phone recognized it when in update process, it will flash to nvram and it should work. Make sure you have plenty of battery power and DO NOT keep power cord connected (variations in line voltage and RF interference can influence flashing process). Once the update is complete and you power cycle, the red eye will flash for a couple minutes, but not much more than that. Mine went off without a hitch.

    Good luck.
     
  12. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +169
    I'm thinking this might be better served in the Rescue Squad section under the Droid Hacks. You might get more people helping or being able to help by moving it there.
     
  13. Valorale

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aye Fox, I did download it again, different SD card too, no luck again.

    Vulcan, is moving it something I can do or do I need a mod?
     
  14. Paintfumes

    Paintfumes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Parma, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im having the exact same issue. I got the ota notification and pressed update now and the phone keeps going through the boot animation over and over again???

    Any ideas
     
  15. Paintfumes

    Paintfumes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Parma, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone says E:Can't open/cache/recovery/command.