1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

2.1 update problem - possible brick

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Valorale, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. Valorale
    Offline

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did a manual update of 2.1. Downloaded the update, rebooted phone holding X. Did the volume up + camera button. Ran the update. Update completed, selected reboot.

    Now when it tries to boot, I just get the red Droid eye and the white Droid logo alternating. Ive let it go for a half hour and it never makes it past this screen.

    Any thoughts? =(
  2. DigiK
    Offline

    DigiK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Try reapplying the update.
  3. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    If you're seeing the white "M" logo, you're not bricked.
  4. Valorale
    Offline

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was my first thought, reapply the update.

    When I hit X I get the triangle !. But when I try to hit volume up and camera button, nothing happens. Tried this about 5 times.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Just push the volume and camera at the same time. Then when nothing happens let go of the camera button and push it again. The menu should pop up.
  6. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    you can't brink a droid...... it's smarter then that!
  7. Valorale
    Offline

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea took a little fiddling but I got it to pop up. Reapplied the update, no luck again, same problem.
    I downloaded the update again, going to try that.
  8. Nick177th
    Offline

    Nick177th New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Relax Valorale. There are some really smart folks on the board. They'll get you through it. As long as you get the "Red eye" as an earlier poster stated, you're not bricked. I'm sure you'll be up and running in no time.
  9. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Button press order

    Press volume button first, hold it then press and hold camera button. Works every time.:icon_ banana:
  10. Valorale
    Offline

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No luck again ... any other thoughts?

    Thats good to know Nick, im not too worried if the phone will work again, just bummed out as like everyone else, ive been looking forward to this update
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  11. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Dear Valorale,

    I suggest you start from scratch...download the update again. I wouldn't be surprised if the original file is corrupted. There is no other reasonable explanation as to why it would not take. If you renamed the file properly and saved it in the card's root directory, then if the phone recognized it when in update process, it will flash to nvram and it should work. Make sure you have plenty of battery power and DO NOT keep power cord connected (variations in line voltage and RF interference can influence flashing process). Once the update is complete and you power cycle, the red eye will flash for a couple minutes, but not much more than that. Mine went off without a hitch.

    Good luck.
  12. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'm thinking this might be better served in the Rescue Squad section under the Droid Hacks. You might get more people helping or being able to help by moving it there.
  13. Valorale
    Offline

    Valorale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aye Fox, I did download it again, different SD card too, no luck again.

    Vulcan, is moving it something I can do or do I need a mod?
  14. Paintfumes
    Offline

    Paintfumes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parma, Ohio
    Im having the exact same issue. I got the ota notification and pressed update now and the phone keeps going through the boot animation over and over again???

    Any ideas
  15. Paintfumes
    Offline

    Paintfumes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parma, Ohio
    Phone says E:Can't open/cache/recovery/command.
  16. DigiK
    Offline

    DigiK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  17. strobez395
    Offline

    strobez395 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem, do a factory reset, it fixes it. No worries your droid is not bricked.


    Edit: You do the factory reset by holding x while you turn it on and then hold volume up and the camera button, it will be an option.
  18. Nick177th
    Offline

    Nick177th New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just wondering if my two brothers in droiderdom that were having problems manually updating got squared away. Anybody know?
  19. DuctTape
    Offline

    DuctTape New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here. I can't even seem to get it to factory reset. I can't turn it off, or anything.

    Someone please help.

    btw, I never had to do a reset before, so I am not sure how long to hold buttons, release etc... nothing seems to work.
  20. HermitObserver
    Offline

    HermitObserver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rip out the battery and put it back in.
    Hold the power button and "x".
    Hold the Volume Up button and press the camera button fully down and then halfway down.
    Hit factory reset.
    If this didn't solve your problem, then you'll have to use RSD-Lite to flash back to stock.