2.1 Update 1 - Question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Bukada, Jul 1, 2010.

1. Bukada

Bukada New Member

Hello everyone..
    Just got a Motorola Droid from Verizon 3 days ago ...
    Firmware Version shows as "2.1-update1"

Can this be rooted? If so.. what is the best method for me to use?

I had an HTC eris and rooted it.. I'm new to the Moto Droid ways of rooting.. any help would be great..
    and yes.. i have read the forums and I did google it...
    I see or what seems to be.. Several methods.. so I am a little confused
    Thanks in advanced
  2. christim

christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

Yes it can be rooted. Read the 1st link in my signature, post 13.

The 3rd link may come in handy if you have issues installing rsd lite.

Basically:

1 - install rsd lite
    2 - flash sprecovery (an alternative boot-recovery program)
    3 - backup your current setup. Always backup before applying roms or themes
    4 - apply the rom of your choice

Welcome aboard, let the fun begin!
  3. Bukada

Bukada New Member

Thanks.. fast.. simple.. Running 2.2 now ... Thanks for the help

One more thing.... In the future.. Will we always have to rename ROMs to "update.zip" or will we eventually be able to select the zip files we have on our sd card?
  4. Tanknspank

Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

you can install an app from the market called ROM Manager, which gives you access to many ROMs, but also installs a different recovery called clockworkmod recovery which does just what you said. It has problems every once in a while, but when it doesn't it is a great recovery.
  5. christim

christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

glad you found it so easy!