2.1 to 2.01

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by n0m0n, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. n0m0n
    Offline

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    Hello,
    Can I (if I can find) change the 2.01 file to upgrade.zip and install it like a upate?

    I got a droid from a friend who didn't like it.
    He is returning to his beloved Storm2, anyway he OTA to 2.1.
    I want to take it to 2.01 so that I can root it.

    Noticed a thread about backing up, but didn't really follow it.

    Thanks
  2. DROIDsys
    Offline

    DROIDsys New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    If he upgraded it to the official 2.1 OTA update, then you need to use RSD to downgrade back to 2.0.1 and from there root. As far as I know there's no other way to get back to 2.0.1 unless you do it that way.
  3. n0m0n
    Offline

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    OK so I am now trying to get this ti log into my google account.

    I noticed that there is a triangle in the notification bar.
    I have not moved this device over to my # because I need to get it up to snuff before I call about the droid that I am using with issues.

    What is the triangle icon mean?

    Thanks
  4. G.Armour
    Offline

    G.Armour New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Not sure, maybe that u are not signed into your Google account.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. n0m0n
    Offline

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    Hmmm how can I tell?
    I am getting my gmail.

    Thanks
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Moved thread so that OP can get better assistance.

    OP it is possible to go back to 2.0.1. You should get better assistance here.
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    To see what the symbol means should just press and drag down the notification bar, should have a more detail about it then.

    So you are receiving gmail?

    This is what you need to do to get back to 2.0.1 http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/24707-unroot-unbrick-your-phone-using-sbf.html I know it says unroot/unbrick, but this will get you to stock 2.0.1, its the only way.
  8. n0m0n
    Offline

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    Yes that is what I used.
    I was on 2.1 and flashed back to 2.01 then rooted.
    BUT the triangle was there right after I flashed back to 2.01.
    Before I rooted or updated to UD9.8.

    I did swipe down the notification bar and it isn't there...

    That is why I am clueless as to what it is.

    Thanks
  9. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Any chance you could get a screencap so we can see this triangle?

    also have you tried a factory data reset?
  10. n0m0n
    Offline

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    Well I have drocap2 but the UD 9.8 has a black notification screen so I don't think it'll show well.

    Now I have not activated this device with my # yet.

    That couldn't be for that???
  11. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    It is hard but I see the triangle. That is where the 3g icon should be. I take it wifi works or you wouldn't be able to get gmail. I think it just needs to be activated.

    Did your friend deactivate it? or did he just give it to you?
  12. n0m0n
    Offline

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    The phone is clean of any anything according to verizon, so it should be good to go.
    I have not activated it yet so could the triangle?

    I have to keep my device active until verizon acknowledges that it is getting swopped out.
    I have to have that ESN on so the insurance will kick in.

    Thanks
  13. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Activating it should help. If not check post #10 here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad/36514-rooted2-1toota2-1-problems.html he had same thing happen going from 2.1 back to 2.0.1. Remeber though if you need to take it in to activate you will need to unroot and remove any root files.
  14. n0m0n
    Offline

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    Remove all root files???
    What I did is unbrick my device with RSDLite.
    I then updated to 2.1 via OTA.
    I also went into Privacy and picked Factory data reset.


    What else should I be doing to make sure all the root is out???

    Thanks
  15. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Thought you put UD 9.8 on there, which means you're rooted. If you have to take it to verizon for anything and they see it's rooted they will just show you the door. All I was saying is if you have to take it to verizon to get it activated you will need to be bone stock. If you can get it activated over the phone then it's not an issue.