2.1 out of the box and root question

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by Rynn01, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. Rynn01
    Offline

    Rynn01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my eris 2 weeks ago so 2.1 was already on it. I know that there are many topics about rooting, but all I could find dealt w/ rooting up to 2.1. So I thought a new thread might be in order.

    Can I have simple directions on how to root my eris? The only reason I want it done is so I can turn it into a hotspot for my itouch, so directions on that would be great too.
  2. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +29
    I'd say first, reboot phone while holding end and volume down and see what version of hboot you have. If its 1.49 your screwed for rooting.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. Rynn01
    Offline

    Rynn01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what will rebooting do? Just turn it off and back on?
  4. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +29
    Ya turn it off and when you turn it back on hold the end button and volume down button.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. Rynn01
    Offline

    Rynn01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    its 1.49 so now what?
  6. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +29
    Enjoy your phone. The hboot 1.49 eris has not been rooted yet. I sold mine to get a droid

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. Rynn01
    Offline

    Rynn01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, now I have a screen that shows an Eris and a big red triangle w/ a ! on it. I can't get it to go away.

    But it will probably be rooted soon right?

    Thanks for helping!
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2010
  8. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +29
    Did you reboot it ? pull the battery see if that works ...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  9. Rynn01
    Offline

    Rynn01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    that did it.
    do you agree that it will be rooted soon?
  10. mentaloaf
    Offline

    mentaloaf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what if it is 2.1...I'm trying to root my wife 's phone (just kidding) How do I root an eris from 2.1? It is really hard to find information on it. Personally I have a rooted moto droid with bb 0.1 and nextheme with p3's lv 1.2 gHz kernel and I LOVE it!
  11. riadav
    Offline

    riadav Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Eris has 2.1 with hboot 1.46, does that mean I can root it?
  12. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +29
    1.46 yes you can

    Rynn I waited and waited from march for the "leak 2.1" which is the 1.49 hboot, did you get a refurbished phone? So far the 1.49 hboot hasn't been rooted...... also check your pm

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  13. nyccharlie
    Offline

    nyccharlie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My hboot is 1.47, so i guess this can be rooted as well?
  14. Ppbb
    Offline

    Ppbb New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Orange County, Ca USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    1.46 and 1.47 can be rooted. 1.49 which Is what i have cannot be rooted.
Search tags for this page

blackberry 8330 root