2.1 launcher works on Milestone 2.0.1

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by big_adventure, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. big_adventure
    Offline

    big_adventure New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The title of the post says it all. The launcher is available on Alldroid, hacked and put up by a user there. You just install it, and it works. I have yet to notice any real negatives in functionality - it is as smooth as the 2.0.1 Milestone launcher, and it gives you 5 home screens. It has not crashed.

    I don't really know if I like the new app drawer, though. It is pretty, but it is slower than the old one and doesn't show as much per "flick". You have to recreate your old widgets, and you'll lose all of the icons on the home (you just have to put them back).
  2. DAGr8
    Offline

    DAGr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    I d rather keep my GDE :)
  3. sloopjohnb
    Offline

    sloopjohnb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where can I find this new launcher? Does is work in milestone 2.0?
  4. big_adventure
    Offline

    big_adventure New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does not. Search around for the file in the droid forum on Alldroid, but you have to be at 2.0.1 to run it.
  5. greg_p
    Offline

    greg_p New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried this launcher, but it doesn't really add value to the phone, and up to me, it's more laggy than the 2.0.1 one. So I uninstalled.
  6. big_adventure
    Offline

    big_adventure New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did the same thing - I didn't uninstall it, but I did set the phone back to defaulting to the 2.0.1 home. Now, if I could just get 5 screens...
  7. greg_p
    Offline

    greg_p New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home++ can do that. I had it sur la 2.0, and it works not too bad ;).
  8. big_adventure
    Offline

    big_adventure New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried home++ as well. It's pretty, but it seemed a bit slower (and coming from a BB Bold, I like my speed) and it went int "wait or close" once in a while. I killed it after a day or two.
Search tags for this page

milestone stock launcher

,

motorola milestone 2 launcher stock

,

stock launcher milestone 1

,

stock launcher motorola mlestone

,

stock milenstone launcher

,

stock milestone launcher