2.1 Launcher or Sholes 2.0.5. Battery Issue

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hookbill, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    This is the first time I've had a battery issue. Either 2.1. Launcher or Sholes 2.0.5 is causing it. The battery is showing that display is the culpret but I wanted to see what you guys think. Have you noticed either of these causing battery life to drop?
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Launcher is bug ridden IMO (and a lot of others). I would try the Sholes 2.0.5 without the 2.1 Launcher.
  3. MM1 Payne (US Navy)
    Offline

    MM1 Payne (US Navy) New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida.
    The 2.1 launcher looks good but it has alot of hidden bugs. I wouldnt be suprised if that was holding your phone back. The logical thing to do is try it without the launcher, if the problem consists then its something diffrent.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I think you might be right. It looked to me that there was an issue prior to install of Wholes. However I don't like the way typing on the virtual keyboard works on 2.0.5. It seemed to work fine after install but now there is a huge lag on the internet. I'll try removing launcher first.
  5. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The virtual keyboard for me is very responsive. That Launcher certainly isn't helping. :icon_ devil:
  6. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    ^^^+1
    Launcher=Evil
  7. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had given up on the 2.1 Launcher long before I decided to root. As nice as it looked, I couldn't take the FC's and the horrid performance in landscape.
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well I dropped the launcher but I'm still not seeing the speed I expected from 2.0.1. Perhaps a reset would help.
  9. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Possibly.

    maybe try flashing 2.0.5 again after uninstalling the Launcher?
  10. meekless
    Offline

    meekless New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I have the 2.0.5 ROM with 2.0.1 launcher and no issues. I did try the 2.1 launcher on the 2.0.3 ROM and was buggy with a lot of lag.
    Like the others I would suggest dropping the 2.1 launcher.
  11. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I uninstalled Launcher. Definitely was sucking the life out of the battery but the virtual keyboard is still way to slow.

    It seems like the lag is caused by the dictionary. Without that and the old typewriter keyboard it worked fine.
  12. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At least you've narrowed down the culprit :)
  13. Andrewecir
    Offline

    Andrewecir New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ga
    did anyone have any problem with losing the screen icons when moving to the .05 I installed it and lost all my home screen icons ie browser, phone, contacts, messaging and i tried it several times and not working for me so I went back to .03