1ghz OC reboot cycling

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Martin030908, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running Sholes 2.0.2. Running at 800mhz it's very very stable, so I decided to push it to 1ghz. Apparently my device can not handle the 1ghz OC. Phone goes into constant reboot cycle.
    I've done factory resets, reinstalled root and ROM, nandroid restores, etc with no luck.

    No matter what I can't get 1ghz stable. Anyone else run into this running Sholes? Any ideas how to correct this or is my Droid just not gonna handle the 1ghz OC?
     
  2. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Bummer Martin. Just out of curiosity, I know you are a Sholes advocate, but if you REALLY want to know whether it is your phone or the ROM/software, go ALL THE WAY back to stock and try Bugless Beast 0.7.5 and see if it works. If it works then you know it's something with Sholes conflicting with your setup, if not, it might be your phone. I'll repost something I said from another thread:

     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Been Running that same build for a week now at 1Ghz with zero problems...

    Not sure what to tell ya..
     
  4. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just saw your post in that other thread. LOL. Yea I like Sholes, but I do think I'm gonna give BB a shot just to see if it's the hardware limiting me or the ROM. Thanks for the advice.
     
  5. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah just follow my guide and if you need help, I'll be around most of the day refreshing my user CP so I can help out.
     
  6. gatewayad

    gatewayad Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    No running 1GHz very stable on 2.0.2 and have been for a week
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Part of the problem is that we all have so many different apps that it's hard to tell what is conflicting with what.
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tell me you're shipping your Droid to me so I can taste 1ghz?
     
  9. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    The OC to 800mhz is solid. Never one FC, nothing wrong. So I don't know if it's a conflict with anything because the only thing I changed was the max OC....
     
  10. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    True but perhaps something only fails at a higher speed or something. So many variables with these phones between hardware, OEM software, ROMs, and various apps.
     
  11. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    For example, when I was setting up my E8400 on my desktop that I referenced earlier, at 4GHz my computer failed at folding and stress test until I changed up some settings, but now I'm running 4.26GHz 24/7 365 with no issues....
     
  12. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    True... this gives me an idea. I'll try removing something to see it if changes.

    edit: wasn't what I thought. No dice.