10-15 second delay going to Home screen from an app?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by liguy257, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. liguy257

    liguy257 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kind of losing my mind here. When I'm in an app and click the Home button, it takes 10-15 seconds for the homescreen to fill in and be operational. I'm using Launcher Pro and have a few widgets, but I'm finding this to be way over the top. I don't have 4000 apps running, and I don't think my memory is even close to full, so I'm trying to figure out exactly what is causing the slow down.

    Is the Droid 1 really that crappy that running a few fairly static widgets slows it down THAT much? I don't have patience, and especially when something should be working a certain way and isn't. What should I be looking at? I can get rid of Launcher and use the stock screen (blech) and kill all my widgets but A: I don't really have that many, and B: 1 $200 phone should be able to run SOME stuff without melting down.
     
  2. blxxlee

    blxxlee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm gettin the same exact issue on my droid too! Help!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    751
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +767
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I always had delay issues with LauncherPro. I ended up going back to the stock theme and had little to no lag. Another issue I always had with LauncherPro was that half my screen would go blank and stay that way until I turned the screen off.

    An app that might help you is MemoryUpPro. This is what I used when my Droid would lag and it did help. However, I do think it's LauncherPro, not to bash I loved it, but the lag was horrible.
     
  4. ufish2

    ufish2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App.. rooted.. deoxed
     
  5. ufish2

    ufish2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try Zeam launcher..

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App.. rooted and deoxed... :)
     
  6. trumpet444

    trumpet444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are ROOTED this fixes the problem.

    (quoted from huskerkate)

    try this fix from samsonite801

    If you use ADW or LauncherPro and if after using your browser, email or any other apps for awhile, then if you press the 'HOME' button, if it takes forever to redraw your home screen, and you are sick of that HORRIBLE LAG, then try this: In a terminal, type su and enter. Then type echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop and enter. Then reboot. Now evaluate whether or not this fixes your lag. If you want to undo what this command does, simply remove that toggle from: /data/local.prop

    To remove the toggle: In Root Explorer, go to /data/, tap Mount R/W at the top, then long-press on local.prop and Open in Text Editor, then delete the line: ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1.


     
  7. iamjoe

    iamjoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    usa - NJ
    Ratings:
    +2
    DO A FACTORY RESET

    I had the same issues for way too long. I did a reset and all is well. I use astro file manager to backup my apps to sd card.

    I should have done this long ago. I also have a DROID 1
     
  8. turdbogls

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    the problem is with Froyo. it doesn't lock the launcher in memory, so when you have some apps open, the memory manager kicks the launcher out of memory (stock or LP or any other for that matter) so when you go back home, you get the "redraws" you are seeing.

    my droid X doesn't have this problem and that is mostly because it has double the RAM the original droid does.

    the data local prop thing posted above helps but it doesn't FIX it
     
  9. banshee56

    banshee56 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for bringing up an old thread, but I tried doing this in a terminal and I did not put the spaces in the "=1 >> /data". Now, when I boot, it gets past the "M" screen and goes no farther. Have I just bricked my phone and is there anything I can do to recover?

    Thanks.

    EDIT: I've tried the battery pull to try booting into Recovery, but everytime I reinstall the battery, it tries to boot and does what I described.
    EDIT2: OK, I can get to the bootloader screen, but not sure where to go from here.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
Search tags for this page
htc merge always loading
,
htc merge is running slow
,
htc merge is slow
,
htc merge loading
,

htc merge running slow

,
htc merge slow
,
htc sensation slow loading home screen
,
my htc merge is slow
,
why does it take so long for htc merge to reset
,
why is my htc merge so slow