1/17/11 - SS 4.96 is Ready!

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by ChevyNo1, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. keyblade
    Offline

    keyblade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the new market to install on this just fine, themed too (I found it, didn't theme it myself. I don't have ADB on this laptop so instead I looked for someone who already did it. :p )

    Link: [THEME]UPDATED 1/16 New Blue Market 2.2.11 & Blue keyboard - xda-developers

    Use the 2.2.11 version.
  2. karri0n
    Offline

    karri0n New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the issue Where as soon as the boot animation finishes the screen goes black. I had come from 4.9 with no wipe, and had previously used the EL brightness settings. I flashed back to 4.9(still no wipe), opened chevyno1 tools and turned off the EL brightness checkbox. I then flashed 4.96 again(no wipe) and it worked fine. If anyone is having that issue, you might want to try that if you are trying to go no-wipe.

    Chevy, huge props on the way you make these go so smoothly with no wipe.

    The only issue I'm seeing is Wireless tether is having trouble. It's not FC'ing, but it doesn't want to make a connection with the client. I can get it to connect once every 5 or so tried of opening and closing the app and attempting to reconnect on the client. It doesn't want to assign an IP.

    I have installed Barnacle and it's working nicely.


    EDIT: I also see android-tether.apk in my /system/app directory. I see it listed in /data/app as well. I can't seem to uninstall it through the applications manager either.
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  3. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No bother at all .. the fix you did (deleting it from /system/app) was correct, it wasn't even supposed to be in the ROM.
  4. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmmm, that is odd indeed ... let me know if that solves the problem. The data wipe clearing it up tells me though it is something in your settings that is being brought back to cause the problem ...
  5. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, these methods seem to work - BUT if you wipe - does it still work? In a clean ROM it just FC's
  6. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good catch, I DID remove the Alarm Clock (old one) from this ROM but forgot to remove the script!
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does that mean you tried fix permissions and it works now, or it is still failing? If the latter - can you get a logcat and send to chevyno1.droid@gmail.com? Have you tried to clear data for the browser?
  8. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep - I updated post #2, check that for a solution. Thx!
  9. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yea - the pulldown (since it's stored in settings now and not pulled from the XML) will stay the same if you do not wipe - that can be set to the latest version by going into Tools, Statusbar, Carrier Text
  10. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the tip - I have included your fix in post #2 and that helps me to understand what the issue is, or at least where to look. Also - for the tether app - that was a mistake. Also see post #2 on that one.
  11. jeff.wilson2000
    Offline

    jeff.wilson2000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ok, I'm an idiot. I swear I looked through all the threads to try and find a solution to my problem. Turns out it was the EL brightness being "on" when I flashed the ROM (which I now see is mentioned a few times). Turned it off in 4.9, flashed the ROM (no wipe), and am now happily running 4.96 with no issues.

    Awesome work, Chevy. :)
  12. keyblade
    Offline

    keyblade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wiped coming from MIUI and the Market link I posted previously works perfectly.
  13. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Naw, I don't think you're an idiot - but there IS apparently a bug in my EL code, lol! I will have to find it ...
  14. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK! I will check it out and try to include it in a base ROM. Thx!
  15. jeff.wilson2000
    Offline

    jeff.wilson2000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I might have to disagree with you... I just checked again, and the solution to my issue is in the SECOND FREAKIN' POST of this thread. ;)

    At any rate, glad I got it working. Yours is, by far, the best mod I've used. I have no desire to go anywhere else. Beer(s) should be on the way. :)
  16. keyblade
    Offline

    keyblade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup no problem. Only issue I'm having is with Kongregate. It was loading games on MIUI fine, but on SS it hangs at a black screen on all the games. However I'm also not convinced that the issue isn't on their end yet. :p

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  17. jeff.wilson2000
    Offline

    jeff.wilson2000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I couldn't even get it to install this morning (when I was on 4.9). I tried twice - it would download, but not actually install.

    Now I'm looking at the Market (and this article), and it would appear that it's been pulled, for some unknown reason.
  18. grinchy
    Offline

    grinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeland,FL
    kicka$$ rom as usual :)
  19. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks much sir! :)
  20. tbone73
    Offline

    tbone73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    had that, it's a kernel issue, you need to either go up in voltage or down in speed. So if you have a LV1.2Kernel you should try a LV1.0 or LV800MHz kernel. Try lowering your kernel speed first and run the same URL on your browser. if you lower your speed to 1.0 and it works you're done, if not go up in voltage and get a medV kernel. Index of /froyo/kernels3
Search tags for this page
simply stunning 4.9
,

simply stunning 4.96

,
simply stunning 4.96 download
,
ss 4.96 download