1/17/11 - SS 4.96 is Ready!

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by ChevyNo1, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been unable to get ANY of the new markets to work without FC'ing .. that is the only reason I have not included it as part of the ROM. And even still - the market has not updated itself!
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also run wired tether and it works just fine for me. Can you capture a logcat when it fails and send it to chevyno1.droid@gmail.com?
  3. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    wireless tether works for me as well. No FC

    I also tried to port the new market to SS4.96 with no success.

    The only way I would see it working is to possibly edit framework xml's for market ? If Chevy cant get it working, I might as well give up. lol. I have no where near the knowledge of chevy.

    However....I will keep trying.
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  4. jimmydene84
    Offline

    jimmydene84 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't know what u guys r doin....I've had the new market on here the whole time. It was the first thing I flashed after I installed. I came from 4.95 with no wipe

    sent with my thumbs
  5. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas

    you didnt wipe though. If it was working for you in 4.95 and you didnt wipe....thats your answer.

    Im working on the new market right now, as well as getting wired tether to work if I can. Wireless tether works fine for me.
  6. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    This part here is some of the best news I've heard in a while. It's like seeing the horizon just start to get light knowing the sun is coming up. Hopefully though, it's not an Arctic Circle morning. :)
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ha ha ha!!

    Well - so far it's going good. Coding to Lamb of God must be helping
  8. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    He is referring to the ability to be able to turn the data connection off without having to activate airplane mode.
  9. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Problem solved!
  10. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahhhhh - thx. That is NOT in this ROM - but will look into it.
  11. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What was the problem?
  12. k00ey
    Offline

    k00ey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    No, when installing 4.96 over 4.9 w/o wiping, it gets to the boot animation then it powers off by itself. I end up having to do a battery pull and boot into recovery. I'm assuming if it was just a BLACK screen then at least my bottom lights would turn on, or volume buttons would work. Correct?

    I might eventually try just installing the themed version of 4.96 over my unthemed 4.9 to see if it has the same effect when I get some time.
  13. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    because the camera apk is not the same as before. I tried porting a camera app in my theme...and fc too. So I just pulled the camera.apk from the download for 496 and themed it...worked w/o a hitch. Some xml files are different from what I noticed while I had them gutted for Kuro theme.
  14. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    you could essentially go into settings>wireless networks>and shut off data there.
  15. blitzburgh39
    Offline

    blitzburgh39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Working as smooth as.. a hot knife through butter... yeah i think thats it..

    lol.

    Good job on this one

    :D
  16. samiusmc
    Offline

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, I forgot about the data wipe. LOL.

    Thanks again Chevy. BTW, for anyone wanting to update the market, I used the Update.Zip method and flashed it with CM. Works great with no FCs.
  17. ???
    Offline

    ??? New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just installed, no wipe.

    only thing i see if the stock alarm clock is missing when i tired to unhide it it. but the alarm within clock works, so im good.

    my autozone app works now, my pull down still says 4.95, the email app isnt themed, thats all i can remember for now. thanks chevy. good luck on GB.
  18. 9wire
    Offline

    9wire New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My browser keeps closing, not fc, but just goes back to the home screen. Ran fix permissions.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  19. ???
    Offline

    ??? New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh and the wired tether thats in the app draw fc too, but i havent tired connecting it to my laptop.

    nice idea thou. i like it better than searching settings for it.
  20. mkloharry
    Offline

    mkloharry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chevy I installed 4.96 again over 4.95 this time I removed wired tether cleared delviccache installed wired tether and all is working. Sorry to bothered you.



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page
simply stunning 4.9
,

simply stunning 4.96

,
simply stunning 4.96 download
,
ss 4.96 download