1.0 nore 1.1 bugless beast wont work on my droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by gabdroid, May 15, 2010.

  1. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I played a little with my phone today and decided to change from 800mhz smoked glass to 800mhz nexdroid. Well I liked the smoked glass a lot better so I wanted to go back,but in doing so I decided to do 1.0 ghz. When I was done,Droid tried to reboot but the m popped up,then went away and popped up again like 20 times before I chose to reboot in nandroid recovery, after that was done,I chose BBC rom with smoked glass at 1.1ghz to try again. Same problems happened. .. so now I'm back to 800mhz bb smoked glass which is fine but I just want to know if anyone knows why it wouldn't work for me?
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some phones can't handle a high kernel.
  3. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But... why would my Droid be any different than other droids on here running 1.0 and up?
  4. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wiped data & cache??...
  5. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes sir! Where you download the new ron it pops up where you can check mark 2 spots. One is like backup rom. And the other is clear cache. I check mark both. That's what I did when I installed both 800mhz Rom without a problem.
  6. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll try the 1.0 kernel with BB & Smoked... I gotta charge my Droid for a bit first... directly via Rom Manager right?
  7. gixxerboy
    Offline

    gixxerboy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not every droid is 1000% the same some just cant run at higher clock speeds my droid has a limit of 1.1 ghz wbut i never go above 1ghz
  8. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I can't get to 1ghz. I just find it weird... mbk. Did you ever try it out?
  9. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep... I used Rom Manager as you did and went from a BB/Smoked 800 MHz to BB/Smoked 1.0 GHz without a hitch whatsoever... I do find that the 1.0 GHz kernel runs hotter... 37c to 40c... so that may be why in your case/\...

    Anyways... have you tried to Nandroid back to BB/Smoked 800MHz and simply only update the 1.0 GHz kernel?
  10. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I'm at 800mhz right now with bb and the smoked glass. How would I go about only updating the kernel to 1ghz?
  11. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I would need to download a new kernel and put it on as update.zip again right? Would the new kernel interfere with the rom since its programed at 800mhz?
  12. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'd be updating that rom with that 1.0 GHz kernel...
  13. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. tech44
    Offline

    tech44 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Have you tried any roms other than BB to see if it's your phone? Also,are you trying to use SetCpu?
  15. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just went back to BB/Smoked 800 MHz and then simply installed the 1.0 GHz kernel only and it's running extremely smooth, cool, and lightning fast.....:gotmyvote:
  16. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
  17. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey I haven't had the time to do the kernel yet. I have the file though. Thankss. I haven't tried any other ron because from what I can tell the bb seems to be one of the top roms. . Ill update after a while. Something real quick,the basebrand or basebroad that shows up as an option with bb, I downloaded it once and it says to only do it one time but since I cleared data and changed stuff since then, is that update still on my Droid? Thanks again
  18. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wouldn't worry about that for now...
    you're back to running BB/Smoked @ 800MHz , stable right?
    Now rename that 1.0 GHz kernel that you got from http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/41770-rom-bugless-beast-v1-0-ese81.html#post444078 to update.zip, then drop that into the root of your sd card, then open rom manager and install rom from sd card, browse to the update.zip file and go...(don't do back-up or wipe cache).
    It'll reboot and install that 1.0 GHz kernel...

    if it fails, nandroid back to the BB/Smoked 800 MHz
  19. tech44
    Offline

    tech44 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    This rom already has that version of baseband built in.
    Last edited: May 15, 2010
  20. gabdroid
    Offline

    gabdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So don't backup the rom? I just want to make sure because everytime I installed bb with 800mhz I backed up the rom but cleared cache and that always worked