1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

0.5 to 0.8

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by bmr7c, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. bmr7c
    Offline

    bmr7c New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I looked around and didn't find answer. Buddies phone is still on 0.5 and I'm getting him current. Can I jump from 0.5 to 0.8? Or do I have to go to 0.7 then 0.8? And do I have to do the kernal update too. What should b the order I do things?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    No answer to this?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. thepsyntyst
    Offline

    thepsyntyst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've done that twice and I had to go from .6 to .8

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Personally, I am on .6 so I would be good to jump to .8? Is a full wipe required?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. thepsyntyst
    Offline

    thepsyntyst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you must wipe or you will with out a doubt have problems, but if you use the backup and restore app section in the toolbox then you can restore it all after the full wipe, at least that's what I did, let me know if it works.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    I'm new to liberty (just upgraded after .596) and this is very helpful info! What does the toolbox restore do that TB doesn't?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. Guyute
    Offline

    Guyute New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would stay away from .8. I'm on .5 and it works great. My good friend just went to .8 and is having all sorts of problems also the TBH hack dosn't seem to work on .8, but does on .5. So I can't see a good reason to upgrade especially if I lose features like hotspot.
  8. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    What about .7?
  9. thepsyntyst
    Offline

    thepsyntyst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love .8 no issues at all and you can skip .7, and I just know they said not to use tb for .8 plus I just don't use it so I guess you could try it if your willing to risk it

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums