DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Compcache on 3.1.1?

  1. Senior Droid
    Darksthour's Avatar
    Member #
    67604
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    223
    Twitter
    Nschneider7
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #1

    Compcache on 3.1.1?

    I was wondering if the stock kernel for 3.1.1 has compcache enabled and if that might help with GB's aggressive task killer. I never really had luck with getting compcache to work before so I figured I would ask someone who would know.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    michael_campbell's Avatar
    Member #
    63778
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Posts
    328
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1.
    #2
    There's a setting for it in the UD prefs, but doing a "compcache start" in terminal gives me an error. =\

    Pete Alfonso (of Bugless Beast) has a suggestion for the aggressive memory management however; see if this helps at all; it did me:

    Task Manager Too Aggressive In Gingerbread...
  4. Droid Ninja
    dfuser312553's Avatar
    Member #
    110383
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,084
    #3
    To enable compcache try the primed kernel from the CM section in DF.
  5. Master Droid
    michael_campbell's Avatar
    Member #
    63778
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Posts
    328
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1.
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    To enable compcache try the primed kernel from the CM section in DF.

    That does seem to work, but the really good battery life I was getting out of the stock kernel has gone to $#@!. =(
  6. Droid Ninja
    dfuser312553's Avatar
    Member #
    110383
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,084
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by michael_campbell View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    To enable compcache try the primed kernel from the CM section in DF.

    That does seem to work, but the really good battery life I was getting out of the stock kernel has gone to $#@!. =(
    Can't win them all but if you want cm zram access that's the only kernel I know of that supports it. I'd suggest you grab MS overclock & look at how you adjust the voltage & scripts from the Prime thread if you haven't already.
  7. Master Droid
    michael_campbell's Avatar
    Member #
    63778
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Posts
    328
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1.
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by michael_campbell View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    To enable compcache try the primed kernel from the CM section in DF.

    That does seem to work, but the really good battery life I was getting out of the stock kernel has gone to $#@!. =(
    Can't win them all but if you want cm zram access that's the only kernel I know of that supports it. I'd suggest you grab MS overclock & look at how you adjust the voltage & scripts from the Prime thread if you haven't already.
    It baffles me that compcache is a setting in UD/CM, but the stock kernel doesn't seem to support it.
  8. Master Droid
    b-jammin21's Avatar
    Member #
    59448
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    891
    Liked
    52 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by michael_campbell View Post
    There's a setting for it in the UD prefs, but doing a "compcache start" in terminal gives me an error. =\

    Pete Alfonso (of Bugless Beast) has a suggestion for the aggressive memory management however; see if this helps at all; it did me:

    Task Manager Too Aggressive In Gingerbread...
    Just gave this a try and it seems to be working great for me so far. Not to mention, no negative affect on battery life either. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Play a jam!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Compcache
    By peteralfonso in forum Bugless
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 03:50 PM
  2. Compcache on UD 2.1.0 help
    By bdub33 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 02:20 AM
  3. Compcache on UD2.1?
    By Paladin in forum UltimateDroid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 06:01 PM
  4. Ud & compcache
    By Sniper_5 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 04:09 PM

Search tags for this page

compcache battery life

,
compcache droid
,

compcache droid x

,
compcache droid x stock rom
,
compcache for battery life?
,
compcache in kernel 3.1
,
compcache kernel 3.1
,
enable zram android droid razr
,
kernel 3.1 compcache
,
pete alfonso kernel 3.1
,
peter alfonso gingerbread compcache
,
peter alfonso gingerbread terminal commands
,

peter alfonso task killer

,
peteralfonso compcache
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+