DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: anybody get the new swype to work??

  1. Master Droid
    ucpro's Avatar
    Member #
    9399
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    dothan, al
    Posts
    434
    Phone
    -DROID-
    #1

    anybody get the new swype to work??

    the new swype beta came out a couple days ago, but like the last beta, it doesn't type anything as u swype and you can't use the voice messaging, i just get a blue flicker on the sides.

    i have a themed swype that doesn't require the installer that works, but it's based off an older version (no mic). it's maybe 2 versions old now, but works.
    I really want the mic to work though, but since it doesn't work on ud(and maybe other roms), i'm kinda stuck.

    anybody else havin this problem, or know of a fix?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    sonnydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    110994
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    138
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by ucpro View Post
    the new swype beta came out a couple days ago, but like the last beta, it doesn't type anything as u swype and you can't use the voice messaging, i just get a blue flicker on the sides.

    i have a themed swype that doesn't require the installer that works, but it's based off an older version (no mic). it's maybe 2 versions old now, but works.
    I really want the mic to work though, but since it doesn't work on ud(and maybe other roms), i'm kinda stuck.

    anybody else havin this problem, or know of a fix?
    Did you uninstalled both swype and swype installer?
    Also, use astro and do a search "swype", and delete anything that has swype in it. Reboot. Download New Installer. Enter your account info and install. Should work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. Master Droid
    ucpro's Avatar
    Member #
    9399
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    dothan, al
    Posts
    434
    Phone
    -DROID-
    #3
    i didn't have an installer to uninstall. i had found an apk that didn't need an installer(not sure if i'm allowed to say that or not). i'll see if the one i have now leaves any extra files though after i uninstall it
  5. Senior Droid
    sonnydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    110994
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    138
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by ucpro View Post
    i didn't have an installer to uninstall. i had found an apk that didn't need an installer(not sure if i'm allowed to say that or not). i'll see if the one i have now leaves any extra files though after i uninstall it
    Are you registered to swype beta? It will ask for your account after you install and run the swype installer.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. Master Droid
    ucpro's Avatar
    Member #
    9399
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    dothan, al
    Posts
    434
    Phone
    -DROID-
    #5
    yea, i have the installer, but when i finally install the apk from there, the swype part of it and the mic doesn't work. i even tried rebooting after it installed the new keyboard and still didn't work
  7. Beta Team
    RafficaX's Avatar
    Member #
    98317
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    605
    Phone
    HTC ThunderBolt
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #6
    it may need files removed and added, like lib files and such. if you want to pm me a copy of the apk i can test it out and see whats up.
  8. Senior Droid
    sonnydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    110994
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    138
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by ucpro View Post
    yea, i have the installer, but when i finally install the apk from there, the swype part of it and the mic doesn't work. i even tried rebooting after it installed the new keyboard and still didn't work
    Yea, I was having the same issue. I uninstalled both swype and installer. searched "swype" in astro and deleted all entries that came up. Rebooted. Downloaded & Installed installer. Rebooted. Ran installer and installed swype. That worked for me.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. Master Droid
    ucpro's Avatar
    Member #
    9399
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    dothan, al
    Posts
    434
    Phone
    -DROID-
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by sonnydroid View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ucpro View Post
    yea, i have the installer, but when i finally install the apk from there, the swype part of it and the mic doesn't work. i even tried rebooting after it installed the new keyboard and still didn't work
    Yea, I was having the same issue. I uninstalled both swype and installer. searched "swype" in astro and deleted all entries that came up. Rebooted. Downloaded & Installed installer. Rebooted. Ran installer and installed swype. That worked for me.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    i'm tryin it now, i just have a bunch of text files(xml maybe?) and apks for all the other installers that keeps downloading the the swype site

    ok i got it to swype, but still can't use the mic, it's there but it's crossed out, and when i hit it, the sides of the keyboard flashes blue
    Last edited by ucpro; 12-09-2010 at 12:56 AM. Reason: figured somethin out
  10. Master Droid
    v941726's Avatar
    Member #
    72770
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    256
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Incredible
    #9
    I personally don't see all the interest in swype. ShapeWriter, even though no updates in like forever, is still much better. I just got the new swype and it still sucks. And they make it a half hour install too. F that.
    Most of the time, the answer is is that there is no answer. so stop looking for them.

    Everything is relative! prove me wrong and you get $100
  11. Developer Relations
    tp7six's Avatar
    Member #
    61666
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11,512
    Liked
    361 times
    Twitter
    DroidForums
    Phone
    [MDK] S4
    Premium Member
    #10
    I am a Beta tester and Swype works fine for me on UD 2.4 - it installed with no issues either

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Swype won't work
    By abcdylan in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 01:11 PM
  2. Anyone able to get Swype to work?
    By tu3218 in forum Team D1-MIUI
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 06:47 PM
  3. Cant Get Swype To Work
    By Kdubbjr in forum Bugless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 10:07 PM
  4. Swype doesn't work in Android 2.1
    By babykings in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 08:51 PM
  5. Making swype work on boot up
    By GoGators in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 04:37 PM

Search tags for this page

android keyboard microphone crossed out
,
android microphone crossed out
,
android. microphone crossed out
,
swype beta voice blue
,
swype blue border flash
,

swype doesn't work

,

swype doesn't work after reboot

,
swype doesnt type
,

swype microphone crossed out

,
swype microphone out
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+