DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: SystemPanel App - doesn't show "live" CPU Clock speed

  1. Droid
    spiff72's Avatar
    Member #
    37949
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    68
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus - LTE
    #1

    SystemPanel App - doesn't show "live" CPU Clock speed

    Hey everyone,

    Just moved to UD 2.3.0 from another ROM (Sapphire 1.1.1), and so far it is SWEET! I will probably be upgrading to the 2.4.0 version later today.

    I just have a couple of questions about overclocking for the experts out there...

    I am on the Droid 1, and using the latest Slayher 1200 kernel (max 1100, min 300). I was at 1200, but I had a spontaneous reboot last night while in the Market updating a few apps.

    1. Is SetCPU even needed on this ROM? It appears that there are built in overclocking settings within the "Ultimate Settings" menu, and I have been using them (successfully as far as I can tell). I actually uninstalled SetCPU for this reason. This leads to question 2:

    2. I also run an app called SystemPanel. It monitors various factors (battery, cpu, etc) and runs in the background. Previously, when I would run the program and look at the live stats, it would show a visual indicator of the current clock speed and the numeric value. Now, it just shows as zero. Is this related to the ROM, or is it related to the kernel?

    Here is a screenshot:


    With SetCPU, you had a way to view the "live" clock speed if you wanted (with either the active widget) within the app itself.

    Finally, what is your recommendation regarding the governor? I have always used the "ondemand" option, but I have heard others like the "interactive"...

    Thanks in advance,
    Jeff
  2. Master Droid
    hrdnhvy's Avatar
    Member #
    46691
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    613
    Twitter
    hrdnhvy
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    The one thing I can comment on is your observation in system panel not showing the "real time" cpu speed....Slayhers kernels have never displayey the real time cpu speed in system panel, nor do they show the "time in state" in setc cpu nor do they show cpu info in "android system info" app, regardless of the rom (petty reason, but that is the reasons i dont use them, they are great kernels, but i find that info helpful at monitoring what ur cpu is doing, so i stick with chevys) It seems some kernels show that info others do not, & some seem to show that info sporadically.
  3. Droid
    spiff72's Avatar
    Member #
    37949
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    68
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus - LTE
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by hrdnhvy View Post
    The one thing I can comment on is your observation in system panel not showing the "real time" cpu speed....Slayhers kernels have never displayey the real time cpu speed in system panel, nor do they show the "time in state" in setc cpu nor do they show cpu info in "android system info" app, regardless of the rom (petty reason, but that is the reasons i dont use them, they are great kernels, but i find that info helpful at monitoring what ur cpu is doing, so i stick with chevys) It seems some kernels show that info others do not, & some seem to show that info sporadically.
    So this is a kernel limitation - not the ROM? Are you using chevy's kernel with UD 2.3.0?

    Thanks for the response!
  4. Master Droid
    hrdnhvy's Avatar
    Member #
    46691
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    613
    Twitter
    hrdnhvy
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    I can say with confidence its a kernel thing...I have used chevys kernels with the last 3 UD roms with 100% success.
  5. Senior Droid
    sonnydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    110994
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    138
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    I'm using a Slayher kernel and mine DOES show a live speed. Both 1.6 and LFY work. At times, upon reboot, it won't show for a couple of minutes; I don't know why it does that, but after a few mins, I get a live cpu clock speed

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. Master Droid
    hrdnhvy's Avatar
    Member #
    46691
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    613
    Twitter
    hrdnhvy
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    Strange....mine would do just the opposite, when sporadically slayhers would show the live speed for me it was always right away after a reboot, then the first time my phone would "sleep" after waking it, would no longer display the speeds....I would like to hear others results to do with this.

    Quote Originally Posted by sonnydroid View Post
    I'm using a Slayher kernel and mine DOES show a live speed. Both 1.6 and LFY work. At times, upon reboot, it won't show for a couple of minutes; I don't know why it does that, but after a few mins, I get a live cpu clock speed

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. Senior Droid
    Adrozz07's Avatar
    Member #
    102924
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    129
    Phone
    Dunderbolt
    #7
    I have also been using System Panel and for some time now ( not positive but maybe a couple months ) the app stopped giving me accurate clock speeds. I have used multiple kernels on multiple roms and still the same result. Sometimes the cpu clock would be active, sometimes not, but still doesn't accurately reflect my speed. I am using a Chevy ULV 1.1 and it only shows my max at 800. (which by the way is the stock max for UD 2.4). My feeling is that the app needs an update.
  8. Master Droid
    hrdnhvy's Avatar
    Member #
    46691
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    613
    Twitter
    hrdnhvy
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    Are u using Setcpu or the built in cpu clock in ud settings?

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrozz07 View Post
    I have also been using System Panel and for some time now ( not positive but maybe a couple months ) the app stopped giving me accurate clock speeds. I have used multiple kernels on multiple roms and still the same result. Sometimes the cpu clock would be active, sometimes not, but still doesn't accurately reflect my speed. I am using a Chevy ULV 1.1 and it only shows my max at 800. (which by the way is the stock max for UD 2.4). My feeling is that the app needs an update.
  9. Senior Droid
    Adrozz07's Avatar
    Member #
    102924
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    129
    Phone
    Dunderbolt
    #9
    [QUOTE=hrdnhvy;1067232]Are u using Setcpu or the built in cpu clock in ud settings?

    SetCPU is uninstalled at the moment. I use the stock clock on ROMs that have one built in.
  10. Senior Droid
    sonnydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    110994
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    138
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by hrdnhvy View Post
    Strange....mine would do just the opposite, when sporadically slayhers would show the live speed for me it was always right away after a reboot, then the first time my phone would "sleep" after waking it, would no longer display the speeds....I would like to hear others results to do with this.

    Quote Originally Posted by sonnydroid View Post
    I'm using a Slayher kernel and mine DOES show a live speed. Both 1.6 and LFY work. At times, upon reboot, it won't show for a couple of minutes; I don't know why it does that, but after a few mins, I get a live cpu clock speed

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    It is strange. Just did three tests (reboots) and got a live speed right away, on all three reboots.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. custom icon to show in "my computer" while connected to pc
    By trenz in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2011, 06:30 AM
  2. Verizon LTE Chews Through Data at "Ludicrous Speed"!
    By danDroid in forum Android News
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 11:25 AM
  3. Handcent- "Show Mobile only" Option?
    By Game4set in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 09:52 PM
  4. Call log to show up when I press "Phone"
    By pvouzis in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 01:52 AM

Search tags for this page

android app to tell what cpu is at

,

clock display android

,

clockspeed app

,

cpu clock droid 3

,

cpu clock speed display

,

how to determine clock speed on my droid

,

live cpu speed

,

live processor speed

,

processor speed on droid 3

,

show cpu clock android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+