DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: I'm a customer in new 4g area, constant switching to 3g/1x, anyone have any pointers?

  1. Droid Newbie
    MRH72's Avatar
    Member #
    41479
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    I'm a customer in new 4g area, constant switching to 3g/1x, anyone have any pointers?

    Hi everyone! I had a question and i'm having trouble isolating the problem, maybe someone can help me out! My area was recently turned on to 4g (North Idaho). After it happened I decided to root my phone to Liquid gingerbread 3.2. In the last few days I've noticed that 4g is really having trouble sticking and will usually kick to 3g or 1x until I put it in airplane mode then back off.

    I've been doing research all day about this but I'm still not convinced I know what's going on (though I know it's a known issue). I'm thinking it's either:

    -New LTE area, maybe it's a network issue handling a lot of new people? (To anyone that had 4g switched on in their market this past year, was it dropping in and out when it first kicked up?)
    - I've read that sometimes ASOP roms might cause some radio issues?


    More specifically, I can have 4g but usually as soon as it sends/receives data it's going back to 3g/1x. I've tried the LTE onoff to lock the network into LTE only but it's not in my dropdown menu.

    I almost want to go back to the 3g days, at least I wasn't ever cutting out! grr...

    Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Member #
    155225
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    518
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    Not a thunderbolt owner, but maybe putting the phone in CDMA only mode is a temporary fix until 4g is stable in your area.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  4. Droid Newbie
    eFree's Avatar
    Member #
    246614
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #3
    4G just came near my home. According to Verizon 4G map, my house is right on the line between 4G and 3G coverage. Since then, I loose my data at least once a week and have to reboot to get it back.
  5. Droid Newbie
    dzylzzrd's Avatar
    Member #
    187938
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    Call Verizon tech support. I'm on the fringe of 4G also. I'd suggest doing a factory reset. Mine switches back and forth from 3G to 4G a lot. It's not instantaneous, but it does alright.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  6. Droid Ninja
    geoff5093's Avatar
    Member #
    65390
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Goffstown, NH
    Posts
    1,347
    Liked
    69 times
    Twitter
    geoff5093
    Phone
    Galaxy Note II
    #5
    I'm also on the fringe of the 4G area, and experience the same issues. I'll grab 4G for a bit but then it kicks me out and on occasion it doesn't connect to 3G/1X for a few minutes unless I toggle airplane mode.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Constant Switching from 4G to 3G
    By SpeedDMN in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-25-2011, 08:29 AM
  2. New to Droid (X) in Colorado-Appreciate pointers!
    By Philby in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 03:50 PM
  3. New to Droid (X) in Colorado-Appreciate pointers!
    By Philby in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 10:59 AM
  4. in pittsburgh...constant switching between 3g and 1x
    By Matth3w in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 08:28 AM
  5. New Droid- pointers?
    By jlc80 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 09:24 PM

Search tags for this page

1x instead of 4g
,
my 4g phone says 3g
,

why does 4g go in and out

,
why does 4g phone say 3g
,

why does my 4g phone say 3g

,

why does my phone say 3g instead of 4g

,
why does my phone switch from 4g to 3g
,
why does my thunderbolt say 3g
,
why does my thunderbolt says 3g
,
why is my 4g phone showing 3g
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+