DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can I do initial setup without inserting SIM card until I'm ready to activate?

  1. Senior Droid
    srothkin's Avatar
    Member #
    6448
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ossining, NY
    Posts
    103
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt (Verizon)
    #1

    Can I do initial setup without inserting SIM card until I'm ready to activate?

    I've been using a Motorola Droid and I just received my new Thunderbolt. My plan was to initially skip activating the thunderbolt and just use the WiFi while I go through the process of getting all my data transferred to and apps properly setup on the Thunderbolt. This way if I need to spread this out over a few days (due to limited time to work on it), I can still take my Droid with me to have access to the apps I need away from home. I was going to activate the thunderbolt on VZW as the last step of my transition process.

    However, I noticed that the Thunderbolt comes with a SIM card and that the instructions say to call the special number to activate the SIM card before putting it into the Thunderbolt and that the Thunderbolt would then activate automatically when I turn the Droid off and turn the Thunderbolt on. Originally I had figure that the activation to transfer service from my Droid to the Thunderbolt wouldn't happen until I explicitly asked for it by dialing *228 and following the activation process (like I did originally for the Droid).

    So I'm wondering if I can get away with using the Thunderbolt without the SIM card until I'm ready to activate it, or if I have to insert the SIM card for the Thunderbolt to even work (and if that's the case, do I have to activate the SIM card first, or can I just insert it and activate it a few days later when I'm ready)?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Laur3nNewm4n's Avatar
    Member #
    154540
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    418
    Liked
    21 times
    Twitter
    hothfox
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
    #2
    Yes, you can. I'm doing the same thing, and I have mine all set up, synced with Google and everything over WiFi.
  4. Master Droid
    Laur3nNewm4n's Avatar
    Member #
    154540
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    418
    Liked
    21 times
    Twitter
    hothfox
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus i515
    #3
    Just wanted to reassure you that it can be done. I just got back from Verizon - all they did was activate a SIM card, pop it in, activate, and I rebooted. I'm all set up on their network, and had already set up everything on the WiFi.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. SD card swap setup *HELP*
    By krakhedd in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 11:51 PM
  2. getting ready to move to 32gb card, tips?
    By drumtrucker in forum Bugless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 08:55 PM
  3. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 11:04 AM
  4. SD Card Setup
    By jwhit719 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 07:24 PM
  5. Unfinished sholes manual shows instructions for inserting a sim card. GSM for USA?
    By shatteredzman in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2009, 04:53 AM

Search tags for this page

activate droid bionic without sim card
,
activate thunderbolt without sim card
,
can you use a droid bionic without a sim card
,

how to set up a thunderbolt without sim card

,
how to set up droid charge without sim
,

how to use a phone without sim card

,

how to use droid bionic without sim card

,

how to use droid charge without sim card

,
how to use phone without sim card
,
use droid charge without sim card
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+