DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sadly giving up on 4G for now...

  1. Senior Droid
    jawa6969's Avatar
    Member #
    41435
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    240
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #1

    Sadly giving up on 4G for now...

    I got the phone on day one. The first thing I noticed as I looked at the phone as I walked out the door to my car was the 4g icon. Yay, I am on 4g! Wait, where did the icon go? It's pretty much been that way since I have had it. I keep it on Wifi at home. To put it on 4g, pretty much kills having a MOBILE smartphone. Data is the lifeblood of a smartphone and if it is not there, what's the point.

    I have tried every single fix read here (and other forums). Including:

    Rev A fix
    Hard Reset
    Pulling Battery and Sim card and placing back in

    I have tried everything but take the phone back and complaining (rooted it).

    Per the Verizon coverage map, I am (my house) is in a 4g area. On the map, they ask for you address and it say's "I am covered" for 4g. I will note there are a few pockets on the map near my home that is 4g extended. I had been thinking it's just my area. As I would drive around, it would seem to lock onto 4g. But lately, no matter where I go, 4g goes in and out.

    When the 4g goes in and out, it is killing all data. It's not like it quickly finds the 3g and resumes data transfer, it just stops. Goes to 1x after a while mostley.

    So where I am at right now is that I have forced 3g (using Phone Info app) and now can get reliable mobile data.

    Should I be patience with the network and wait it out or should I take this back and ***** (possibly being the device itself)? When does one suppose a possible software fix will be put out for the Thunderbolt?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    bendystrawboy's Avatar
    Member #
    72121
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    797
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    droid
    #2
    i would've taken it back the first day
  4. Senior Droid
    plongson's Avatar
    Member #
    37178
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    158
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    So what setting do you use in PHONE INFO for best battery/data etc when no 4g is available??
    Rooting a THUNDERBOLT is like lipstick on a pig...
  5. Senior Droid
    jawa6969's Avatar
    Member #
    41435
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    240
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by plongson View Post
    So what setting do you use in PHONE INFO for best battery/data etc when no 4g is available??
    It can be forced into 3G only using CDMA auto (PRL) under SET PREFERRED NETWORK TYPE

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-24-2011, 07:15 AM
  2. Direct dial shortcuts possible? (AnyCut gives FC, sadly)
    By androzza in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 11:35 PM
  3. sadly....returning Droid2....what to get?
    By moneyfornothing in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 06:26 PM
  4. May be switching to sprint sadly
    By NYZ93 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-27-2010, 07:29 AM
  5. sadly, goodbye
    By ebean in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 03:18 PM

Search tags for this page

4g goes in and out

,
4g symbols
,
htc thunderbolt direct dial shortcuts fail
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+