DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Data issues

  1. Droid
    bassJAM's Avatar
    Member #
    161136
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #1

    Data issues

    Every now and then I'll lose my data connection. I don't think it's the the same issue as in "Problems with 3G data" thread.

    I can take my phone out of my pocket and it'll show either "3G" or "4G' on the top depending on what area I'm in and I've got good signal strength, but if I try to get online it tells me there's a network error after searching for the page for awhile. The same thing happens if I'm at home and connected to my house wireless network. It shows that I'm connected but if I try to do anything that requires data it'll eventually just time out, like there's no signal. A hard reset seems to fix the problem, but I don't like having to do that every few days.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    Bearslayer's Avatar
    Member #
    186007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Fremont, OH
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #2

    Same deal here....

    I get the same deal out of my TBolt. Once in a while when it comes out of sleep/standby, I cannot use the net, etc and this is with a strong 3G and or wireless connection available to it.

    Instead of a reset try to put the phone into airplane mode and then back out, I've found this to get the data moving again instead of the lengthy reset time.

    I'm unsure if this is TBolt issue or an android issue as I used to get this on occasion on my OG Droid and doing the same thing above fixed the issue.

    If there is anyone out there that has an idea on why this happens I'd appreciate the help.
  4. Master Droid
    lockman's Avatar
    Member #
    14935
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    790
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #3
    I've had this issue with all 3 of my bolts. Nothing that I'm really worried about, it's just annoying.
    It's got to be the phone, I don't recall this with any of my previous devices. I'll have to try airplane mode if it happens again.

    Sent from my brain using my fingers.
    Ad astra per alia porci- John Steinbeck.
    No pigs cannot fly, but I am a seventh day porcinist and believe that bacon was brought to us by angels.


    Razr, Charge, Thunderbolt, DroidX, Fascinate, OG Droid, GalaxyTab
  5. Master Droid
    motoconvert's Avatar
    Member #
    116923
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Norwalk OH
    Posts
    340
    Twitter
    graveyard76
    Phone
    The Bolt; Moto Xoom
    #4
    I have the same problem. Airplane mode does work, its just annoying. Have called tech and talked to my vzw rep and they have no idea...I've tried everything but its no help...I think its the network...on well, love the phne anyway...

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
  6. Droid Newbie
    Bearslayer's Avatar
    Member #
    186007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Fremont, OH
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #5
    Ya no telling what the deal is. Like I said, I did notice it on my original Droid as well, though the Bolt seems to do it more often. Maybe its a Verizon or android deal....
  7. Droid
    bassJAM's Avatar
    Member #
    161136
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #6
    Thanks for the airplane mode tip, I'll give that a try to speed things up. Still annoying though.
  8. Master Droid
    bhall238's Avatar
    Member #
    10677
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    344
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #7
    I think it's either a Tbolt or 4G problem. It seems to be happening a lot tonight but never remember that on the OG Droid happening even once. Screen said 4G but when I couldn't connect (Market or Internet) I went to the settings page and it said connection failed. Go back to the home screen and it still said 4G. I don't see how they can start charging more for 4G till they get all the bugs worked out. And I should mention this is in New Orleans, a supposedly 4G market. Right now I'm looking at the screen say 3G. Didn't mean to hijack the thread, but it's sort of related....
  9. Droid Newbie
    Bearslayer's Avatar
    Member #
    186007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Fremont, OH
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #8
    There is a little app on the market called "reset connections" that u simply click and it resets 3/4G and or WiFi. A short time later data should be moving again.
  10. Droid
    bassJAM's Avatar
    Member #
    161136
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #9
    Hmm, couldn't find the "Reset connections" app, and my problem seems to be getting worse. Maybe it's cause I'm working in an area where I have 4G constantly during the day now but I'm having to reset my phone almost once a day now.
  11. Senior Droid
    bernardino5's Avatar
    Member #
    78374
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    158
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1
    #10
    Have u tried using the mobile widget seems to work better than airplane mode turn off then on set it as a shortcut, I try using airplane mode but is worse think theres an issue with airplanemode.

    thunderbolt
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Data Leak issues/Crazy high data usage
    By BubbaRob in forum Thunderbolt Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 11:40 PM
  2. Issues with data
    By jgomez52304 in forum Droid X Roms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 07:59 AM
  3. Data transfer issues
    By coltlacey in forum Droid Stock Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 12:56 PM
  4. Data issues
    By swagmonster in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 01:23 PM
  5. Charging Issues or Too Much Data?
    By aalb1 in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 09:40 PM

Search tags for this page

3g htc market connection timeout
,

4g connection timeout

,

4g data issues on htc thunderbolt

,

connection timeout thunderbolt

,

droid thunderbolt thinks i'm in fremont

,

lost 4g on thunderbolt

,

thunderbolt 4g data problems

,

thunderbolt 4g loss

,

thunderbolt losing data connection after root

,

thunderbolt lost 4g after root

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+